VeggieBoards banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I am new to veggieboards.com and would like to share my thoughts about something that just happened to my daughter and may be get some feedback, opinions, similar stories from other vegetarians.

My daughter has been a vegetarian since birth and never ate meat in any form, she is now 7 years old. On december 9th, 2006, and January 8th 2007 (yesterday), she had a seizure and vomitted, she had an EEG in between that was normal but suggested a possibility for seizure activity.

My concern is that her second seizure happened at school in the cafetaria and when I got to the E.R. she was still covered with vomit that obviously contained meat. After questionning her, she admitted to have eaten at the cafetaria sometimes for the past month, and had meat several times (I have always packed her lunch and she made sure she emptied it before I got home). I went to her school to obtain a copy of the dates when she ate their food, and it surprised me to realize that she had meat for the first time on December 7, followed by December 8 (pork that day) which was the day before her first seizure. She also just had finished a meatball sub before she had her second seizure and heavily vomitted. I can't help but thinking that it cannot be a coincidence and that meat toxicity is strong enough to provoke something of that nature. I have withdrawn her from school and we will start home schooling and refused to put her on the suggested lifetime harsh medicine.

Has anyone faced anything similar, I would really appreaciate any thoughts because doctors and non-vegetarians think I simply do not make sense.

Thanks,

Florence

·
Registered
278 Posts
ohmigosh, i dont know anything that will be of use to you, but i just wanted to say that my heart goes out to you. thats a very scary thing to have happen! and the dates are uncanny.