VeggieBoards banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,126 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I wasn't sure where else to put this, but I went to the Wrigley website and emailed asking about their products, and got a very informative and good result. Thought I would share it.

Quote:
Thank you for contacting us about animal ingredients and our products.

To answer to your question, the vast majority of Wrigley products sold in the U.S. are free from ingredients of animal origin, including egg and dairy products. At present, the only chewing gum exceptions are Extra® Polar Ice stick gum and Juicy Fruit® pellet gums.

Extra® Polar Ice gum and Orbit® Crystal Mint contain tiny flavor beads encased in a microscopic layer of gelatin, which is animal based. We have requested the development of a gelatin-free flavor bead that is currently being worked on by our supplier. Juicy Fruit Grapermelon and Strappleberry gums use shellac as a coating agent.

The different varieties of our ALTOIDS mints do contain very small quantities of gelatin which is derived from pork. Gelatin does not impart any flavor to ALTOIDS, but it's a necessary ingredient for the texture of the mint. When we use gelatin it is thoroughly purified and dried during its manufacturing process. Our staff is continually looking at alternatives to animal gelatin, but at the moment we've not been able to find a substitute that produces the same quality you've come to love with ALTOIDS.

Our LifeSaver gummies do contain small quantities of gelatin, which is also derived from pork. It follows the same drying and purifying process as with the Altoids.

If your diet does not allow you to consume animal byproducts such as dairy, our CremeSaver line does contain cream, which is a dairy byproduct. On the same note, our LifeSaver Fusions and LifeSaver gummies are produced on the same line as our CremeSavers, so there is a chance that they may contain trace amounts of dairy as well. Our CremeSaver soft chews also contain a small amount of gelatin, which is pork based.

We hope this information has been helpful. If you have any additional questions or comments please feel free to contact us at 1-800-WRIGLEY Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. CST.

Sincerely,

Consumer Affairs Representative
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
63 Posts
I'm new to this site and am just reading through some posts. I saw this one and I just wanted to say thank you for posting your response from Wrigley. It's nice to know what products are vegan and also to see that they're so nice in replying to your request. I think it's awesome. Thanks a bunch!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
64 Posts
OH man I am sad I love altoids and extra gum......I am not vegan but man is there any good breath freshener gums out there that do NOT have gelatin in them? I have got to chew gum while working out!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,126 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by pear_girl View Post

OH man I am sad I love altoids and extra gum......I am not vegan but man is there any good breath freshener gums out there that do NOT have gelatin in them? I have got to chew gum while working out!
Orbit has no gelatin. I love that gum.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19,134 Posts
I too, thought Orbit was non-vegan from both this response, and others that have been posted.

re: Juicy Fruit..the stick kind is vegan, but not the "pellet" ones. I've actually never seen them in the US, only in Canada and the UK (the pellet kind).
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top