VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Do you have a problem with working at a restaurant like McDonalds? Because I'm 17, the most a available jobs are fast food places. Of course I wouldn't eat anything non-vegan, but I am debating myself whether it is still a problem.

·
Registered
5,299 Posts
I worked in a hospital cafeteria, where TONS of meat was served. It was gross. The head chef there was a vegan, and she actually had to cook meat. But a job is a job.

Personally, I wouldn't work in a place that has meat now because I am better credentialed to work in an art museum or something, but if it is the only option available to you...

·
Registered
1,672 Posts
That would suck, but around that age I went through several jobs that I found unpleasant for other reasons. Eventually, I quit a job for ethical reasons and never looked back, but I was about 25 by then and getting established in the job market. Good luck!

·
Registered
35 Posts
I don't have a problem with it. I work at a grocery store, and have to check in meat all the time. It's gross (I thought it was gross even before I became vegetarian), but those people would be buying the meat even if I wasn't working there.

·
Registered
1,995 Posts
McDonalds sucks for vegetarians... even the fries are made from death.

Perhaps, working in fast food could be made more palatable if you chose places veg*n people do go to for food. Burger King has the BK Veggie, for example... and the fries and apple pie are vegan.

As a teen, I bypassed fast food and went to work in retail. My first job was at Gap Outlet, then Goody's Family Clothing.

·
Banned
2,385 Posts