VeggieBoards banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
828 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is anyone here into dancing, by this I mean more than just shakin your booty at the bar on Friday night.

Anyone take lessons or dance professionally? I would love to learn to swing and ballroom dance, but I have two left feet.

·
Registered
3,265 Posts
In college I was on the swing dancing performance team as well as the ballroom performance team. It was tons of fun.

Since I graduated, I have not been dancing though. I got kind of burnt out because my friends and I would go dancing every single night between practice and swing nights at various places.

·
Registered
828 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
is it hard to learn from scratch?

Where in the world can you go dancing? I can't think of any place in Winnipeg where you can go ballroom or swing dancing on a regular basis. They have a big expensive gala dinner with a big band once a year.

The university of Manitoba does have a swing dance club that I want to join, but I really don't know where you can go on a whim and dance.

·
Registered
3,265 Posts
I didn't have trouble learning from scracth, but thats because I went all the time and all my friends eventually ended up being other people on the performance teams. If you go once a week, its really hard to improve.

Where did we go...hmmm. Well, we all met through a swing and ballroom dance club at my college. The club met once a week. The perfomrance teams each met once a week so thats up to three days a week. Downtown every other friday they had big band night at the rec center so we would go there. A club downtown had swing night every Wed evening (they ended up shutting down though). Saturday night if there wasn't any dancing going on somebody would have a party and we would go to their apartment and dance. Now one of my best friends has his own swing club which meets another night of the week.