VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
4,965 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am an artist who is strongly color-driven, but I'm also into design. The artists who most inspire me are Peter Max (color) and Paul Klee (design/color).

·
Registered
1,664 Posts
I'm an artist too.

Form-wise, I'd say Picasso's cubist paintings were highly inspiring when I was starting painting years ago.

I like more gradient tonal changes though and like much renaissance paintings for their rich glowing colours.

I also like Lawren Harris (Canadian group of 7 painter) for his stylized scenes and gradient tonal changes (from dark to light)

Other favourites are

1... Juan Gris ... nice cubist still lifes from early last century

2... George Braques - his works after he came back from WW1 ... like the textures in the paint and the colours and tones and shapes

3... Henri Rousseau ... in his own catagory
love those high contrast colours and shades and the stylized shapes

4... Cezenne ... like the structured paintings hinting at where cubism would be influenced by ... great tones and colours again.

that's it for now ...too tired

·
Banned
559 Posts
i don't have one, never have, despite being one of those artist people myself. i don't keep up with the art scene, past or modern, actually.

·
Registered
2,541 Posts
I am a big fan of surrealism... the ultimate is Dali, but I also appreciate Rene Magritte (I think that's his name, it's been a while) and some of the other surrealists...

·
Registered
8,591 Posts
Salvador Dali

Vincent Van Gogh

Alexander Caulder

Henry Moore

Pablo Picasso

Raphael (my ancestor... according to my grandfather)

Michaelangelo

my grandmother Kacy (local Pacific NorthWest artist)

·
Registered
4,965 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I'll ad a couple more, since I was in a bit of a hurry when I started the thread:

Rene Magritte

Ivan Albright

·
Registered
0 Posts
I would have to say past artists..Dali