VeggieBoards banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
sorry, I have a feeling this is going to turn into a story.

My name is molly.
I'm one of those on again off again vegetarians and vegans.
I slip, eat some tasty meat because I maybe had a drink or 3, and say "this is awesome" why the heck not.
I'm a cook too. Cooks generally use meat and all its parts to make food do certain wonderful things. I spiral out of control. And I go on eating meat until I realize how gross it makes me feel and how bad I feel for the animals that gave themselves for me, and I go back to being a vegetarian again.

the past 2 years or so I was eating meat again. I was pregnant two times. I know that I could have remained a vegetarian but I was nervous all the time. I was nervous about going in an elevator while pregnant. So I ate meat because I thought the developing baby needed it.

Now my babies are miniature children and I feed them food. I am in charge. Its scary.

I have been watching one too many documentaries and reading too many articles and getting grossed out again. Then 4 months ago, I read an article that discussed the results of a study that found that over 1/2 the supply of US meat (at that time) contained Staph infection. That was it for me. I really think I'm done for good.

I'm transitioning to whole living as well. I have been for the past year. Shopping at farmers markets, organic food, and cooking/ baking from scratch.

I have a food blog and you can actually laugh and see the transition to mainly vegetarian recipes in the past couple months. I still cook meat for my family, I don't choose to eat it. But I might have a small amount if it is farm raised, free range, organic, and humanely butchered. Maybe.

I am working to transition my family. Thats actually why I am here. I need ammo. Help. Its not going to be easy.

It is nice to meet you all, I hope I get to know you all better. Thanks for reading my long story.

·
Registered