This was a big wake up call for me when I first started out.Originally Posted by Quincy
if an item says dairy free* or has any type of asterisk, always look in the fine print or ingredients. sometimes I've assumed something was vegan because it was "dairy free", "lactose free", etc, but sometimes found hidden traces of dairy products in the ingredients. *sigh*
This law was passed Jan '06. However, if it's shelf-stable and was in the warehouse or similar, it still might not list. They were allowed to sell everything still that they hadn't produced with proper packaging.Originally Posted by Morna
In the USA at least they have to list any milk ingredients as an allergy warning. Look at the bottom of the ingrediant list and usually it'll say something like Contains: soy, wheat,......(sometimes in bold letters).