VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
I ♥ Vegan Guys ◕‿◕
3,229 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I always thought that plants don't have a nervous system, nor pain receptors or a brain, therefore they couldn't experience pain.

However, one omnivore wanted to be smart with me and said "And if plants don't have a nervous system, how is it that a venus fly trap can tell when a prey has wandered into its mouth?"

Anyway, just been arguing with peeps about plants being able to feel pain. No matter what I say they continue to think they are always right and that vegans are just sooooooooooooooooooooooooooo wrong. :/ hmmmmm no sense even trying with some.

·
Registered
173 Posts
I think it's just a reaction set off by a trigger (insect, etc). A mousetrap can tell when a mouse/cat's tail/finger is on it in the same sort of a way, but it isn't aware of what's going on. I'm not an expert, though, so someone else may be able to correct me and/or fill in the blanks that I wasn't able to.

·
I ♥ Vegan Guys ◕‿◕
3,229 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks for your input veggiholic ^^, but yes...I need someone who can explain how the plant can sense that a fly has landed on it, so that it can then snap shut and consume it. o_o My arguments become invalid without it. Not like they would believe me anyway though lol. These days you have to show online proof of having some sort of PHD for anyone to believe even a smidgen of what you say LOLOLOL

·
Premium Member
16,664 Posts
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Venus_Flytrap

There's an explanation here, basically it is all done by pre-programmed electro-chemical responses to stimuli. No brain or consciousness required.

Quote:
The Venus Flytrap is one of a very small group of plants capable of rapid movement, such as Mimosa, the Telegraph plant, sundews and bladderworts.