VeggieBoards banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,011 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm lacto-ovo, but I'm trying vegan stuff as I see it. I may never go vegan, but even lowering the amount of dairy and eggs I consume is a step in the right direction.

So I saw these "Veggie Slices" alternate cheeses in the store, and I was thinking of trying them, just to see if they were any good:

http://www.galaxyfoods.com/ourbrands/usa/veggie.asp

But when I picked up the package to look at the nutritional information, I noticed that they're made from milk, complete with dairy allergy warning and all.

So can someone tell me what's the point of a dairy substitute for a dairy food? Seeing an item like that in the tofu section, I just assumed it would be vegan.

--Fromper

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,011 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ahh... that makes sense.

Being a little lactose intolerant myself, I've never had problems with cheese. Milk and ice cream are painful, but cheese has never affected me. One more reason why I've discovered the joys of soy milk.

Thanks, ~Wonder

--Fromper

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,684 Posts
Fromper, one thing a lot of veg*ns learn is not to take anything for granted when it comes to food. Read labels like they're disappearing. If you have a question about what an ingredient is, look it up online. If you're still not sure, call the company.
 
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top