VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, my name is jj, I'm new to the vegetarian scene, but I recently discovered that some vegetarians think it is acceptable to eat eggs! How disgusting! I know vegans don't eat any animal product, but surely vegetarians should refrain from eating eggs also? I just think if someone is a vegetarian for moral reasons then why do they go around eating eggs and fish like it's acceptable. I just want to know what other peoples thoughts on this are. Thankies xxx

·
Registered
1,862 Posts
Eggs are an animal product, but it doesn't kill the animal to collect them (at least not directly). They are usually unfertilized so they would not become chicks if left to incubate. Most vegetarians in my area consume both dairy and eggs.

Fish is a different story -- that's definitely not vegetarian because it kills the animal.

·
Registered
344 Posts
Lots of vegetarians eat eggs. They're called lacto-ovo vegetarians if they eat both dairy and eggs. They're called ovo vegetarians if they eat eggs, but not dairy. Eggs qualify as a vegetarian food, but not a vegan food. Since this is the vegetarian support forum, you can get in trouble for coming in here and bashing on things that vegetarians are allowed to eat because that's not supportive.

·
Registered
1,693 Posts
I'd be surprised if this thread even lasts the whole day, as this subject often comes up and usually results in vegetarians and vegans slamming each other, followed by the thread getting locked. But, I will do my best to answer this as best I can based on my own perspective.