VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone! I've decided to become a vegetarian. I am a high school sophomore who has always loved animals and has always thought about vegetarianism in the back of my mind.

Now, it has become a reality. Biology class was the catalyst.

I learned that we were going to be dissecting fetal pigs in my class. It immediately disturbed me. I just can't imagine doing anything like that! When my teacher began discussing the process, I grew emotional. He stopped, turned around and asked what was wrong with me in this awful tone. I didn't reply. He continued in gross detail.

The next day was basically a repeat. I have spent the entire week thinking about this and how awful it is. I've never been particularly fond of looking at raw meat in a store or in my fridge but always ate it because that's what was for dinner. Now, I've made the decision to refuse meat. I don't think I can bear to eat anything that I know was walking around not that long ago. I don't want to wear any of my suede or leather shoes, either. It's not necessary to kill animals for these purposes!

Just felt like getting this out there. Has anyone had a similar experience? It would be nice to talk to someone who understands. Thanks guys!

·
Registered
1,691 Posts
Hello and welcome to the VeggieBoards!

You will definitely meet many like-minded folks here who are also concerned with the fact that we don't believe that animals were made for the sole purpose of feeding us, clothing us, and entertaining us.

You will also find a very harsh world outside of veg*anism. People have a way of rejecting the unfamiliar.

Best of luck in your journey. Remember to do your research and take your B12 supplement.

If you have any questions, we here at VB will not hesitate to answer them to the best of our ability for you.

And finally, go you for making such an important decision!

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·