VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,

My mum has been a vegetarian for years, and a vegan for over a year. She recently got a job opportunity to work in a cafe which she accepted. Prior to that she was not working, and due to medical reasons found it almost impossible to find work.

Obviously working in a cafe will mean she is surrounded by people eating animal products. She will have to take orders and bring people their food.

I told her that it will still happen even if she is not there. She does it but she switches off while she is at work.

Quite often she will doubt that what she is doing is right. I tell her that it's no worse than buying veggies from the supermarket that sells meat.

I am sure she would appreciate some uplifting advice from other like-minded people.

Thanks to all.

·
Registered
150 Posts
As a police officer, I'm often required to destroy injured animals. I hate doing it, but hate seeing the animals suffer too. :-(

·
Banned
2,861 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaisieF View Post

As a police officer, I'm often required to destroy injured animals. I hate doing it, but hate seeing the animals suffer too. :-(
Well ...

I think a person who can do something they dont want to do out of compassion, and with compassion, is kinda more 'vegan' than a person who couldn't Maisie.

'Mercy' killings, I think, are better done by those who are reluctant rather than by those who are keen?

·
Banned
2,861 Posts
Hi Brett

Just in case this helps ...

I had opportunity to purchase a snack wagon (road side jobbie that serves bacon rolls and such crap) recently. I considered it like this:

Without me it would continue to sell meat products at wahtever rate it sold meat products at.

With me it would have had to increase, and actively promote, a range of veg*an options as well.