VeggieBoards banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
Joined
·
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
While not a vegan, I am a vegetarian who avoids gelatin. As an avid wine lover, I recently discovered that many wines are processed using gelatin (ewwwww....). I checked my local Earth Fare today and they carry no vegan wines. Anyone have a suggestion for where I can look in the Columbia, SC area? Or a brand recommendation for wines I can pick up online? Many thanks!
 

· Banned
Joined
·
6,701 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by laurie15 View Post

most wines are filtered with casein and eggs - you can contact them and see, and then you dont have to seek out vegan.
not really

the four most common finings are isinglass, gelatin, bentonite, and diatomeceous earth

I won't say that casein and eggs aren't used, but they are not common
 

· Registered
Joined
·
1,161 Posts
Frey California Organic wine is Vegan. The Cabernet is okay, but avoid the "natural red". I really didn't care for that.

Wright New Zealand wines are vegan (not sure which stores, if any, carry it) http://www.wrightswines.co.nz/index.php?page=philosophy

Cygnus Wine Cellars in Maryland is vegan. I recommend the Port of Manchester. http://www.cygnuswinecellars.com/

online vegan wine retailers

http://www.ecowine.com/order.htm

- type in Vegan in the search menu.

http://www.freywine.com/freywine/order-here.html

http://www.mountaincovevineyards.com/

^ this is a Virginia winery that is vegan. I recommend the Skyline Rose and the Blackberry

Those I'm positive about. I've heard RUMOR that kosher wines might be vegan. I'm not sure though. Also keep in mind Organic does not = vegan. Some organics are still going to use the horrible animal product "fining".
 

· Registered
Joined
·
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks so much for the suggestions- I will check out those links.

I checked with the win manager at our local Earth Fare store and he said he used to carry a brand called "Organic Wine Works" that he *thought* was vegan, but he wasn't positive. I am having trouble verifying that online and would love to know if anyone can confirm. Thanks!
 

· Registered
Joined
·
438 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by remilard View Post

not really

the four most common finings are isinglass, gelatin, bentonite, and diatomeceous earth

I won't say that casein and eggs aren't used, but they are not common
thank you. i'm quite allergic to both and perhaps the companies tell me that is the source to cover themselves in case things change - a lot of companies do that, unfortunately. thanks for the info, though! perhaps i'll find more.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
438 Posts
pepper pig said:
Quote:
Originally Posted by lelab View Post

While not a vegan, I am a vegetarian who avoids gelatin....

All vegetarians should not consume gelatin - or else they are not vegetarians, as far as i see it anyway
out of curiousity, wouldn't gelatin fall more into the honey-ish area (and perhaps for make up and stuff, then in the leather and so on)? i know it's more 'to each their own', but if there were some sort of definition?
 

· Registered
Joined
·
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
As a veg, I draw the line at anything derived from the dead, so gelatin is a clear no-no for me, as are cheeses made with rennet, etc. But many veggies I know draw the line at not eating flesh and nothing more. All in how you see it I guess. My remark about being a no-gelatin veggie wa not made out of ignorance, but as a reflection of how the veggies I know define themselves.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
438 Posts
Thanks for the replies. It was out of curiousity. That's a good definition - gelatin (the actual stuff) isn't really something that crosses my mind. "Hmm... I wonder HOW they make it." Just something I knew was rank and 'knew' how they made it. If that makes sense.

Anyway.

Thanks.
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top