VeggieBoards banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

Hello all, my name is Alex. I am 26 years old and from the beautiful Pacific Northwest (US). I have recently decided to give veganism a go once again. I tried it before a few years ago and I was actually very successful for a few months but, I didn't have the support that I craved and sadly I stopped. I believe everyone on the veggieboards can be my support.

I currently work as an echocardiographer (I do ultrasounds on people's hearts) and it has really opened my eyes to how eating affects us. Day in and day out I perform ultrasounds on people who are extremely overweight and dieing because they've chosen to eat a certain way. I feel like a total idiot to continue to eat the way that they do when I can see what will happen. I mean, I know it's not quite that simple but, yeah. I've read plenty on how eating a diet with meats, dairy, and eggs is so incredibly detrimental to your health coupled with the fact that it is so cruel to other living beings and totally unnecessary I just can't go with the "norm" anymore!! I hate the corporate, commercialized world...

Anywho...sorry about the rant. Long story short, I just want a group of cool people to talk to about being a vegan and all that it entails.
Feel free to say hi anytime!

·
Registered
2,521 Posts
Hi! It must be hard to work with people that you know won't change - but this way you can be a great example to them! Well done.

·
Registered
20,217 Posts
Welcome to VB Alex!
I'm a medical transcriber. I type up the doctors' reports on those echoes you do.

(well, not those specific ONES you do, but you get the idea...)

·
Ankle Biter
9,333 Posts
Hi! Glad you are here!

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thanks everyone for welcoming me to VB! I've been searching through this thing for hours getting great input on being vegan!