VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,312 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by *Cringe* View Post

Google says: Well, no vegan stuff, but "Goelitz Confections brand candy corn" is "strict vegetarian-" just beeswax. Made by Jelly Belly and sold at Albertsons.
I'd kill for some... so much so I think I might let the beeswax slide..

I haven't had candy corn in YEARS because every kind I see has egg whites and/or gelatin. It's probably the only thing I actually miss since going vegan. I never heard of Albertson's before, but I did a search and there are apparently a bunch of locations near me. Might have to go on a quick candy corn run tonight....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
i'm fine with honey or beeswax or something... i just want some candy corn without gelatin or any form of egg or any artificial colors and flavors! is that really so difficult??? i found a bag that was maybe 2 ounces connected to some teddy bear at barnes and nobles last year... and they didn't have any other candy corn... but that was a miracle in itself... yeah but every candy corn has egg albumen, egg white, solid egg something, or gelatin! i loooove candy corn and i can't find any! and the marshmallows i can find aren't that satisfactory... i guess i'm still used to hoofmellows... BUT IF ANYONE COULD FIND ONE WITH HONEY OR BEESWAX OR SOMETHING THAT'S VEGANS SANS BEE WHATEVER THEN I'D BE AN INCREDIBLY HAPPY PERSON IN TIME FOR HALLOWEEN!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,260 Posts
(*whispers*) ASmith2000: Your post is coming across rudely. I am sure it's not intentional.

I am going to try making my own this year. It sounds tedious, but I would have vegan candy corn. I shall report back on this.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
898 Posts
I also miss candy corn. I just finished watching "the Secret Life of Halloween" on the Food Channel and they show how to make candy corn. Apparently, the original recipe of candy corn (which started back in 1880's by Goelitz Candy Company which is now Jelly Belly) was just sugar, butter and corn syrup. There wasn't any gelatin, egg whites or beeswax. To get the different colored layers of orange and yellow you just add food colors to the sugar, butter and corn syrup recipe. They would roll into long strips the different colored mixes, side by side, and cut into little triangles. It looked pretty easy.

Unfortunately they didn't give the exact measurements or any other instructions. But I am sure you can find it online somewhere.

But if you don't care about the different colors you can just eat it white (that white tip was always my favorite part anyhow!).

Oh, the bakery that was demonstrating the making of candy corn on the show was Boule in Los Angeles. So, if anyone lives there, maybe they have it for Halloween. I didn't see it for sale on their website.

I am looking for Edwards and Sons Organic Butterscotch candies (it is vegan). Vegan Unlimited used to sell it but they don't have it anymore and I can't find a place to buy it online or at stores. If anyone knows where I can get it, let me know.

queen

(ps. if you are ok with some beeswax, i heard that Jelly Belly's Candy corn, just has beeswax and is otherwise vegan)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
I'm pretty sure I found some vegan candy corn today. It's made by Elegant Gourmet and they do have a website. When you go to their website, look under "Halloween Candy" and you'll see it. I'm pretty sure it's vegan because unlike other candy corn it doesn't contain any gelatin, egg whites, beeswax, or glycerine. Also, Jelly Belly makes an almost-vegan candy corn, but it does have beeswax. But the Elegant Gourmet candy corn seems to be 100% vegan, as far as I can tell.
 
1 - 20 of 29 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top