VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is beer vegan at all? I was thinking about make some fish and chips tonight and the batter calls for a bottle of beer. I know most wines aren't vegan but i don't know about beer?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,348 Posts
Some is, some isn't.

Guinness, I once sadly found out, isn't. It's clarified with isinglass which is made of fish's swim bladders or some damn thing.

Mmm...swim bladders...mmm.

I'm sure you could google the info you need.

I could google it and paste it in here to make myself look like I had ready command of the info. But that's not how jeezycreezy rolls.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
18,833 Posts
Also, there's been several discussions on the topic here on VB. Try the search function and you're bound to find several hits on the topic.

ETA: Fish is also not vegetarian or vegan at all.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,260 Posts
Most lagers are vegan from what I understand, if you like light-colored beer.

As far as other beers go, if it's American, there's a good chance it's vegan. If it's European -- especially Irish -- there's a good chance isinglass from fish was used to process it.

There are lists on the Internet so that you can be sure.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Hmm fish bladder. Thanks jeezy.
Somehow in the middle of everything i totally forgot about google. LOL Whoops!

Thanks for the link nigel.

Brandon: I did try searching on here and couldn't find anything. So maybe i just have bad luck with the search tool?

I'm also fully aware fish is not vegan or vegetarian. the fish is going to be tofu. I didn't think i'd need to say it. I thought people would assume i'd use a vegan fake fish or some other recipe. I guess not.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
5,772 Posts
Most beer is vegan these days (this has changed rapidly in the last 10 years or so as diatomceous (sp?) earth has rapidly replaced other finings in commercial brewing). Oddly, finding a dry/irish stout that is vegan is hard. Guiness/Beamish/Murphey's are all not vegan.

Other than finings 99% of the animal ingredients in beer are honey or lactose. Almost anything with honey will have "honey" in the name and lactose is usually only in "milk stout" or "sweet stout".
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
5,772 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by froggythefrog View Post

especially Irish
What I don't get is that Guiness, Beamish and Murphy's are all currently english owned and a lot of other english ale that is imported here is vegan. I'm not sure if there is a practical reason for using it or not. Pretty much everyone thinks diatomaceous earth works better, and it is cheap as dirt (pun intended).
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
5,772 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by froggythefrog View Post

Are you saying a Cream Stout could have lactose in it?
No, Cream Stout should not have lactose. Milk/sweet stout is different. Lactose isn't fermentable so it is pretty noticeable in beer.

Cream Stout/Cream Ale would not have any dairy (if they are true to style, which is never guaranteed. I've never heard of one with dairy though)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
18,833 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by VeggieFerret View Post

Brandon: I did try searching on here and couldn't find anything. So maybe i just have bad luck with the search tool?

I'm also fully aware fish is not vegan or vegetarian. the fish is going to be tofu. I didn't think i'd need to say it. I thought people would assume i'd use a vegan fake fish or some other recipe. I guess not.
I've just tried about 5 times to use the search function and it isn't working at all for me right now. The current board software has its share of quirks and weird things about it, so this appears to be yet another.

I'm going to bring it up to Michael.


Re: the fish-

You can never tell on this board. We've had a lot of people come here and say they are veg*n but still eat fish. No offense was meant.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~Brandon View Post

I've just tried about 5 times to use the search function and it isn't working at all for me right now. The current board software has its share of quirks and weird things about it, so this appears to be yet another.

I'm going to bring it up to Michael.


Re: the fish-

You can never tell on this board. We've had a lot of people come here and say they are veg*n but still eat fish. No offense was meant.
I didn't know the search tool could malfunction like that. I'm glad to know it wasn't me. LOL!

Very true, I'm sorry i kinda had a bad attitude about it. My brain isn't with me today. Psat and a huge huge huge test tomorow kinda screws my brain up for me.
Hope you can forgive me.


Thanks everyone!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
18,833 Posts
It's my understanding (from what I've read online) that most domestic (US) and Mexican beers are all vegan. Not 100% sure about Canadian beer or beer that isn't from the UK. Most of the UK-based beers (again, not 100% sure about all of them) are suspect as far as being vegan-friendly.

I tend to stick to domestics and cerveza mexicana, so I'd be interested to see any responses that anyone who writes gets.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
68 Posts
I just want to know if the tofu and chips were any good? We sometimes fry tofu for Thai food, but I've never thought of using it instead of fish. I really used to love fish and chips. Do you marinate the tofu?
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
5,772 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaScotia View Post

German beer is vegan
1. The Reinheitsgebot does not prohibit the use of finings. Many people mistakenly think this but if german beer were only made with barley, hops and water it wouldn't have alcohol since yeast are required for that.

2. Even if the Reinheitsgebot did prohibit the use of finings, German beer which is exported does not need to conform.

So some German beer is vegan and some isn't, just like every other country.
 
1 - 20 of 47 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top