VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking for a little help with baking as I am new to all this. Do most of you purchase baking mixes for cakes/cookies or do you start from scratch? Thanks to everyone for all of their support!

·
Registered
193 Posts
I never buy premade packaging. I'm just paying a company to do the measurements for me. Going from scratch seems like a pain in the ass, but it is worth it.

What type of recipes are you looking for?

·
Registered
3,423 Posts
home made all the way. Pretty much all packages are geared towards eggs being used.

Recommended books: They Joy of Vegan Baking, The vegan cookie Connoisseur, Vegan Baking Classics (by Kelly Rudnicki- and I don't recommend the zucchini bread recipe, but everything else has been good)
Fran Costigan's MORE GREAT GOOD DAIRY-FREE DESSERTS NATURALLY , although I wouldn't suggest it for a beginner baker.

·
Registered
2,126 Posts
I bake from scratch. I have never used packaged mixes, even when I was an omni. Anything made from a mix always tastes "mix-y" to me. And there's nothing so hard about measuring out a little flour and sugar, anyway.

Try Googling "Wacky Cake" -- it's a naturally vegan chocolate cake recipe that's been around forever. No weird ingredients and it comes out really yummy, you'd never know it was vegan. A similar recipe has been posted on this forum as "Absurdly Easy Chocolate Cake," but it makes more cake than the Wacky Cake recipe I use, which only makes an 8 x 8 square pan.

·
Registered
3,423 Posts
^^^it's very good! and simple

·
Registered
3,423 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Thanks for the suggestions and I will look up some of those recipes and try them out!

·
Registered
76 Posts
I make all mine from scratch too.