VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
2,101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A few questions for the fiction writers on these boards. Do you feel compelled to make your main characters veg*n? Do you avoid describing meals/eating in your books? Do you ever wonder what responsibility you have to represent the world "accurately" as opposed to how you wish it were? Do you worry that putting veg*n characters in your books will make people see them as "propaganda" and not read them at all?

Wrestling with these questions myself...

·
Registered
2,186 Posts
I wonder about that all the time when I write. But I'm just a hobbyist writer so it doesn't really matter what other people think.

Not to hijack your thread but along this same line, I used to never keep any meat related neopet food and avoided all leather objects. When I needed it for quests I started to keep it in my SB.

I still never fed my neopets any of the virtual meaty neopet food. Same on gaia, I don't buy any clothing with fur or leather. Probably silly that I don't even want virtual meat and leather on my chars on a game, heh.

·
Registered
1,983 Posts
I don't feed my neopets meat either, Eclipse! I thought I was the only one!

This is an interesting question. I'm a creative writing major hoping to write novels for a career. I've got three in progress right now. One is a medieval fantasy, and I keep my food historically accurate, although I don't write much about their meals anyway.

One, which I started before I went veg, has a vegetarian civilization! My subconscious must have been nagging at me. The civilization is supposed to have very high moral standards, but they're being contrasted with a hunter-gatherer society who are supposed to be equally right in their views, just different.