VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 307 Posts

·
Administrator
Joined
·
19,873 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is a little project I've been working on for our vegetarian group. Some of these places are local so you won't be familiar with them.

This is primarily being compiled from a vegetarian standpoint so unless something specifically says it is vegan it probably isn't. If you have anything you would like to add please feel free to let me know.

I'm still working on it so it will be updated periodically, I thought it may come in handy to some of you.

By the way, this was done in Word, I just tried to open it in Notepad and it's funked up. You may want to download it and then try opening it, I'm not sure what it does if you don't have Word.

This list was compiled quite some time ago and may be out of date. It is recommended that you check with the companies listed to verify that the information is still correct.

ETA: This site has a larger (and perhaps more up-to-date list)...

http://www.sword2skyvegan.net/selections.html


foods.doc 40.5k . file
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
0 Posts
this is the word of jacK in the box...they have something called a nerd/geek (one or the other ive just been told this!!!)burger...like $0.38 each, or 4 for 1.00...some crazed deal. sO next timen e one's outta their yuppY vegan-veganic produce-ville and feels like contributing to a dumb arse fast food chains money hording, check out j in da box--["...and i thougt to myself, 'join the army! it's free!"]
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,192 Posts
Quote:
Would it be so difficult for there to be a few vegan things to eat at fast food places?!
Agreed. Smart restaurants and restaurant chains should provide at least some items on a menu everyone can eat, regardless of chosen diet. Not only would this make for 'healthy' alternatives, but it would certainly be smart business sense as those with varying dietary choices could also then frequent the establishment.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
19,873 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
You're joking right? In case you're not, the fries are not vegan, or even vegetarian for that matter. Beef tallow (fat) is added during the manufacturing process. It was being listed as "natural ingredients" but that may have changed due to the lawsuit.

Not sure if anything else at McDonalds is vegan.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
0 Posts
wow am i surprised to see the taco bell bean burritos are vegan. i have always been informed by taco bell that the tortillas vary from rest. to rest. maybe they are all getting the same tortillas now? anyway, as much as i think taco bell and pepsi are evil, im forever grateful for TB when im driving across country, starved out of my mind.

here's the taco bell lingo for anyone that cares. yea, you have to pay for extra lettuce and tomato even though yer not getting the cheese!!! goh

bean burrito minus cheese plus lettuce and tomato

xoxo

kittee
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
487 Posts
That list is awesome!

I was wondering what caesin is?

Just in case anyone was planning on getting a veggie whopper from burger king, I'd just like to warn you that usually the restaraunt makes it wrong. I have ordered it a couple of times back in my non-healthy days & I would get it with just a strip of lettuce on a bun!! No wonder meat-eaters think we, vegetarians don't eat anything. I worked at BK years ago & found that usually they just take the meat off the bun for the veggie whopper which I'm sure is undesirable to most, YOu have to ask for a fresh bun. But even if you do, the person making the burger does not change their greasy, meaty gloves when they make your burger. All the vegetables are right near the bacon, sometimes vegetables may get into the bacon pan but they are still used with greasy bacon on them. There's are some things to think about if you are a strict picky vegan. It's been years since I worked there so I forget most of the goings on but usually Bk is very unsanitary & very non-vegan.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
19,873 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·
I probably spelled it wrong, I think it should read casein. Really need to work on finishing that list! Anyway, here is the description from PETA's list of animal derived ingredients...

Casein. Caseinate. Sodium Caseinate.

Milk protein. In "non-dairy" creamers, soy cheese, many cosmetics, hair preparations, beauty masks. Alternatives: soy protein, soy milk, and other vegetable milks.

...which can be found at - http://www.peta-online.org/mc/facts/fsm16.html

Someone else can probably give you more details about its origins and uses but I was on and thought I'd post.

As for the lettuce on a bun from BK I'd say that's someone screwing around and trying to be funny. Probably something I'd bring to the managers attention.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,691 Posts
i can't seem to open the attachment cause it wants to open itself in office which isn't installed properly. can someone who has downloaded it email it to me so i can open it elsewhere?

thankee
 
1 - 20 of 307 Posts
Top