VeggieBoards banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yesterday, I visited my aunty, at tea time she served us homemade vegan wafer cookies. However, I was quite disappointed after tasting them, she used vanilla extract in them. I wonder if vanilla extract is non-vegan cause it has sugar and I heard that sugar factories used bone char to make sugar. Also, the vanilla contains castoreum! Even as a vegetarian I would still choose not to eat it. How can a vegan use vanilla extract? Being an ethical vegan I think she needs to quit using vanilla extract.

What are your thoughts on using vanilla extract as a vegan?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
No, almost all vanilla extract is vegan. And if we talk about using sugar in vanilla extract, bone charcoal is used to eliminate the impurity that remains in sugar. If you are a pure vegan, then vegan sugar is available in the market, which you can use in making cookies and cooking in any other way.
 
1 - 3 of 3 Posts
Top