VeggieBoards banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this - - I want to stop relying on canned beans!

How long do they need to soak?

How much dried beans = 1 cup of soaked beans (I imagine they expand?
)

Thanks so much in advance for taking the time to respond!

·
Super Moderator
8,961 Posts
This is a good chart:
http://www.vegparadise.com/charts.html

I cook a different pot of beans every week. I usually soak them while I'm at work and cook till they're done.
If I'm making soup I chop the veggies in varying sizes and put them in halfway. Some cook down to flavor the broth that way.

Big tip-anything acidy (tomatoes) and salt go in after the beans are done. They can delay or retard cooking.

Dried beans are so much cheaper-and easier to buy organic!

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Silva! THanks so much! That chart is ust what i need! So, just to confirm - - i'm soaking my beans 8 hrs first, and then going by the cooking time on the chart?

Dried beans - - cheaper and less sodium! YAY!

THanks again!

·
Registered
12,079 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by silva View Post

This is a good chart:
http://www.vegparadise.com/charts.html

I cook a different pot of beans every week. I usually soak them while I'm at work and cook till they're done.
If I'm making soup I chop the veggies in varying sizes and put them in halfway. Some cook down to flavor the broth that way.

Big tip-anything acidy (tomatoes) and salt go in after the beans are done. They can delay or retard cooking.

Dried beans are so much cheaper-and easier to buy organic!
Thanks from me too...this is cool!

·
Super Moderator
8,961 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JerseyVegan View Post

Silva! THanks so much! That chart is ust what i need! So, just to confirm - - i'm soaking my beans 8 hrs first, and then going by the cooking time on the chart?

Dried beans - - cheaper and less sodium! YAY!

THanks again!