VeggieBoards banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4,204 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A person at the health food store said you should only eat 7 almonds per day and no more. They never went into any detail and I can't find anything about this online. Does anyone know anything about this?

·
Registered
3,423 Posts
scratch what I just wrote and posted....some sites say 12 and about 23 is an ounce.....not sure where the 7 comes into play. you really don't need more than an ounce a day with the fat calories associated with nuts, while you are still getting the benefits from them.

·
Registered
966 Posts
I'm no nutrition expert, but I've never heard anything about such a small limit for almonds. I have heard if you're trying to loose weight, you shouldn't eat more than an ounce of raw nuts. It really depends on how much energy you're burning through-out the day though.

Anyway, I'm not sure where the idea of only being able to eat 7 nuts came from.

·
Registered
324 Posts
I know I wouldn't trust anything a store clerk says about nutrition unless there was some information behind it to back it up!

·
Registered
3,423 Posts
well, for sure, you don't need all of the fat calories from an excessive amt of nuts, when you could be varying your diet and eating a lot more food for those same calories

I think you'd be safe with more than seven, but not more than an ounce.

·
Registered
1,862 Posts
Like others have said, I don't think there's anything inherently bad about eating a more generous helping of almonds, especially if it's only once in a while. They are high in fat, so if you're trying to cut calories or lose weight that could be a problem. They also shouldn't take the place of other healthy foods like fruits, veggies, grains, and legumes.

·
Banned
1,529 Posts