VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been dieting pretty hard core for about four months now. I'm down thirty pounds from my heaviest weight (over a year or so of casual dieting as well). I still have about 50-70 pounds to lose. Yes, that's a big range. I'm wanting to lose the 50 then decide if that's enough, if that makes sense.

Anyway, I've heard a lot of people talk about cheating on diets, one or even two days a week. And of course I don't mean eating meat on those days just in case anyone misunderstands, that isn't a "diet" for me, it's a lifestyle.

In one way this strategy makes sense. One day of not having to obsess over every little bite, counting every single calorie, and their arguments that it helps "trick" your metabolism, because if you constantly restrict your body will try to "hang on" or go into starvation mode or whatever, also makes sense.

But on the other hand, it seems illogical. Calories in minus calories out equals weight loss or gain. It's a scientific formula. I do occasional cheat days, usually if there's a special event or date and I don't think it hampers my efforts too much but I'm wondering if there truly is an advantage to doing weekly cheating.

Any thoughts or knowledge on the subject would be very much appreciated!

·
Banned
1,529 Posts
Two days a week :x
I'd say don't cheat at all, or maybe once a month.
You made such great progress, the last thing you need is for two cheat days to snowball.

If you really feel like you'd like to implement a cheat day, I'd say at the end of each month as a pat on the back for a 30 day push.

·
Registered
4,946 Posts
I'd look into a more sustainable diet plan, that allowed for delicious foods (like fruit and vegetables, yummy smoothies, mmm). What are you looking to "cheat" with?

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I wasn't actually planning two cheat days, actually wasn't even planning one. Just a passing thought.