VeggieBoards banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What did you do with all of your leather shoes, jackets, purses, etc., once you became a vegetarian? Did/do you still wear them since the damage is done now or did you give them away?
Looking for input on this.
Thanks!

·
Not such a Beginner ;)
8,394 Posts
I kept some and freecycled some. I don't care if anyone yells hypocrite at me for wearing old or used leather, but I hate the smell of it so much anyway I wouldn't have it around.

Shoes are always my issue since I am a nurse, but nowadays it's easier to find vegan shoes.

·
Registered
489 Posts
I know some people still use them and others will give them away. I didn't really have a lot of leather to begin with but I will admit I still have a pair of leather shoes, they are steel cap work boots that will likely last me many years, they are important when working around the farm.

Do whatever you feel comfortable with.

·
Registered
961 Posts
i was kind of wondering the same thing i just never got around to asking yet. i still have a down coat that i bought 2 years ago because everyone told me that they dont hurt the chickens and ducks to get the down. they told me that they just pick it up off the ground so i bought it. i know now how they get the down so i havnt really warn that coat for a while. i dont know how i feel about that because i bought that after i turned veg. if i throw it away though its just a i hate to say but a waste of those animals suffering.
now as for my shoes that have leather i do still use them but im not going to buy any more shoes with leather in them when im in the market again. ive had the shoes i have from before i was a veg so i do still wear them for now. its weird donating shoes idk if someone would wear my used ones

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·