VeggieBoards banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey my name is Gabriel I am a college student studying the effects of eating a plant based diet and was wondering if anyone would be willing to answer some questions about their experience being vegetarian for a research paper. I am interesting in learning more about the vegetarian diet and possibly becoming plant based myself. The questions I had were: What was the main reason you decided to follow a vegetarian diet? How long were you plant based for? What problems did you have when you first started? How did being vegetarian effect your health? How did you stay on the diet long term? How did you feel after being on the diet for some time? What advice would you give to someone who is thinking about becoming plant based? Thank you for your help.

·
Registered
55 Posts
What was the main reason you decided to follow a vegetarian diet?

I initially went vegetarian out of an interest in avoiding harming animals. That extended to avoiding leather and personal/home care products that were cruelty-free. Eventually I learned that eggs and dairy were also part of an overall animal exploitation industry, and I needed to stop making excuses for why I was eating butter, brie, and eggs!

How long were you plant based for?

I don't identify as plant-based, but have been vegan since I think 2006 and went vegetarian (as defined above) around 1997.

What problems did you have when you first started?

Social issues were, and still are, the biggest problems. In the early days it was issues like business lunches or family events. My husband and I have a vegan blog and have done a lot of mentoring of new vegans, and they tend to have the same issues and questions. Here they are: FAQs | The Thinking Vegan

How did being vegetarian effect your health?

I didn't recognize any effect, but, I'm over 50 now and I suppose I can assume I'd be in worse shape if I wasn't vegan.