VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
20,217 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yesterday, I ate egg in whole form (as an egg salad sandwich) for the first time in two years.


I didn't really want it.

I've never even liked egg all that much, and when I swore off egg, I haven't missed it at all. It's not like I was craving an egg salad sandwich.

It was really stupid of me.


I've been carrying around a Starbucks gift card in my purse since Christmas 2005, and I wanted to use it, and there's a Starbucks two blocks from work. I brought an instant soup cup and some carrots for lunch, but I wasn't really looking forward to them, so I thought I'd walk over to Starbucks and see what they had, since I knew they sold sandwiches. (I also got a container of fresh fruit and a bottle of iced tea there, yay). They don't have anything vegan. Closest thing they had that was vegetarian (other than the ESS) was the fruit thing and a container of fresh fruit and cheese, which I've been trying to avoid, too. (Oops, the cheese, not the fresh fruit).

So I got the egg salad sandwich.


My rationale was that I'd eaten cheese in whole form on more than one occasion lately, so I couldn't really call myself a vegan anymore, so what the hell.


I didn't finish it for lunch, so instead of throwing out what was left, I finished it when I got home from work.

I can't believe I did that.


And I still have $10.00 left on that damned Starbucks card.


-sigh- I do feel a little better now that I got that off my chest.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,950 Posts
I had a free drink voucher for starbucks but I dont like tea or coffee! it got binned.

here they do a falafel+hummus flatbread which is AMAZING just rather rare! I want one now =(

What about Frapuccinos? as far as i know the fruit tea ones are vegan (and if theyre not add that to my slipups eek) but they only do raspberry or mango flavour.

errrr

first slipup since *official* vegan day january 1st (even though i was more or less vegan since errrrrr about 2 months earlier, that was my official 'no cheating' date)

yesterday I was in subway, hadnt eaten all day (it was about 8pm) and STARVING. they only had wheat or honey oat bread left. Both contain honey.

I got the wheat so it didnt *look* like i was eating honey, but im fairly sure it does contain it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
30 Posts
Pesto.

I had some left in the freezer from my pre-vegan times and I thought, "Oooh! Pesto pasta!" and made myself a nice yummy "vegan" meal, failing to realise (yes...) until somebody posted something about "vegan pesto" that there was actually cheese in pesto.

*facepalm*

I am silly. Well at least now I know. :p
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
97 Posts
Gah.. after doing a search on here for Starbucks, it seems my last, oh I don't know.. 50 vegan slipups have been due to misinformation regarding the contents of Starbucks beverages. I had read a couple years ago that the bases for the mochas, hot chocolates, and pumpkin spice lattes were all vegan-friendly but apparently not anymore..
I guess that's one more expensive habit that I'll be dropping immediately.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
53 Posts
If you make a mistake without realizing it, I don't think it is a big deal.. it is the ones where you DO know that suck. Also, if you have eaten this stuff you whole life, it is really hard to just stop-- but you can slowly get there. It will happen if you keep working on it. At least, that is what I am going by.

However, I also think committing to this is a longer process than just saying "after today I am a full vegan" for some people. You have to start somewhere and if you make a mistake you move on.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
24 Posts
I bought myself Oat and Honey granola bars yesterday, thinking they were vegan friendly and after eating my third today it suddenly occurred to me "Oh wait.. Oat and.. honey? Why didn't I get that yesterday when I bought these?!"

The honey part of "Oat and Honey" honestly just didn't dawn on me until a few hours ago.

At Quizno's on Saturday I had French Onion dressing on my sub, I don't know if it was vegan or not and not wanting to make a scene for around friend I was with who barely tolerates my veganism, I didn't ask. Then, I ate Garden Salsa Sun Chips afterwards reading the ingredients label and seeing that just because they say 'garden' does not mean they are vegan.

Then today, being very hungry and having the vending machine out of min Nutter Butter things.. I bought Garden Salsa Sun Chips.

Twice I've ignored the "(processed with alkali)" that comes after the word 'cocoa'.

I really need to stop doing that, it makes me feel really shoddy and like a cheat. Ew.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
141 Posts
I'm so used to eating Luna bars, I bought a Gensoy one and just started eating it before I thought "oh wait- this might not be vegan!" Sure enough, it wasn't. Nonfat milk powder or somesuch
Then I finished it, because I had already half eaten it and I didn't think throwing it away would really help anything.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,104 Posts
I caved for cheese pizza on Saturday. It wasn't that good, it didn't even LOOK that good... I was being lazy and hadn't done our grocery shopping for the week yet, and didn't want to dig through what was left in the cupboards and hope I might be able to concoct something reasonably ok to eat.

I was sick all night from it. Thanks, cheese. Won't be doing THAT again.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,887 Posts
I had some milk chocolate that my grandparents gave me for valentines day. I should have just given it away, but I couldn't help it... It just went in my mouth.

Then when I got home, I was so depressed and dissolutioned that I ate some indian food that I had (one of those Palak nuke for 2 min. Indian entrees). It was cottage cheese in a creamy tomato sauce. On the bright side, it was disgusting and made me feel sick, so I'm in no hurry to do that again. And now all the non vegan food is out of my house!
 

·
Vegan Police Officer
Joined
·
5,211 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amy SF View Post

Yesterday, I ate egg in whole form (as an egg salad sandwich) for the first time in two years.


I didn't really want it.

I've never even liked egg all that much, and when I swore off egg, I haven't missed it at all. It's not like I was craving an egg salad sandwich.

It was really stupid of me.


I've been carrying around a Starbucks gift card in my purse since Christmas 2005, and I wanted to use it, and there's a Starbucks two blocks from work. I brought an instant soup cup and some carrots for lunch, but I wasn't really looking forward to them, so I thought I'd walk over to Starbucks and see what they had, since I knew they sold sandwiches. (I also got a container of fresh fruit and a bottle of iced tea there, yay). They don't have anything vegan. Closest thing they had that was vegetarian (other than the ESS) was the fruit thing and a container of fresh fruit and cheese, which I've been trying to avoid, too. (Oops, the cheese, not the fresh fruit).

So I got the egg salad sandwich.


My rationale was that I'd eaten cheese in whole form on more than one occasion lately, so I couldn't really call myself a vegan anymore, so what the hell.


I didn't finish it for lunch, so instead of throwing out what was left, I finished it when I got home from work.

I can't believe I did that.


And I still have $10.00 left on that damned Starbucks card.


-sigh- I do feel a little better now that I got that off my chest.
I would have given the voucher to a beggar or a homeless person instead of eating animal suffering and exploitation.

Two Starbucks have opened up in the town where I live within a year. They are both close to the two MacDonalds we also have in our town. A lot of people, when talking of Starbucks, replace the "b" with an "f".
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
344 Posts
May I reccommend using the rest of the money on your starbucks card for some soy lattes. Most of the syrups are vegan except for the pumpkin spice and (in some areas) mocha.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
52 Posts
I was eating a particular brand of couscous soup-in-a-cup. Already feeling guilty because it was ready-made, and not homemade, but I had needed something to bring for lunch to work.

So yeah, sitting at the lunchtable, what did I notice on the ingredient list but...parmesan cheese. Now, it would be a trace amount considering what position it occupied in the ingredient list, but STILL.

I felt awfully stupid for not having read all the ingredients in the first place. It's from a company i trust generally, and it simply never occurred to me that they would put CHEESE in a perfectly good otherwise-vegan item...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
38 Posts
May last "I know I messed up" slip up that I can remember was somewhere around Thanksgiving/Christmas. My Mom went through all this trouble to make a vegan cake. She even got toffutti and I think she made "flax eggs" for the batter. She brings the cake to me, and I ask her about what she used... and she used her margerine. It would be vegan, as far as I know, if it wasn't for the casian. ARGH. But she's my Mom, she tried, and so instead of throwing it back in her face I told her her mistake but I still took some. I hoping next time she'll use Earth Balence.

I might be slipping up every few Sundays, though. I'm having a time trying to find out what is in our communion bread at our Methodist church. I've played with the idea of baking vegan breadfor the church... Communion is only about once a month or so for us so it's not that big of a chore, though we are a pretty big gathering. Hm.

We typically use Giant brand bread, if anyone knows, BTW. Thanks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,858 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirate Ferret View Post

I had a free drink voucher for starbucks but I dont like tea or coffee! it got binned.

here they do a falafel+hummus flatbread which is AMAZING just rather rare! I want one now =(

What about Frapuccinos? as far as i know the fruit tea ones are vegan (and if theyre not add that to my slipups eek) but they only do raspberry or mango flavour.

errrr

first slipup since *official* vegan day january 1st (even though i was more or less vegan since errrrrr about 2 months earlier, that was my official 'no cheating' date)

yesterday I was in subway, hadnt eaten all day (it was about 8pm) and STARVING. they only had wheat or honey oat bread left. Both contain honey.

I got the wheat so it didnt *look* like i was eating honey, but im fairly sure it does contain it.
I didn't know the wheat bread had honey
that sucks.

In that case, chalk me up for ~ 6 slipups or somethng?


whjat breads at subway are vegan? all the rest look like they have cheese or somethng on
 
1 - 20 of 35 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top