VeggieBoards banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
722 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
No, I'm not really endlessly fascinating (although one can always hope), but I thought I'd post a bit about myself anyway. I'm not sure whether introductions are de rigeur on these boards or not, but I figured it couldn't do any harm.

I'm a 23 (turn 23 tomorrow, that is) year old straight white male, of 3/4 Jewish ancestry (1/4 is Swedish, 1/4 Russian Jewish, and 1/2 Polish Jewish). I go to the University of Chicago, where I'm majoring in economics. I used to be a mathematics major who specialized in economics, but it turns out I'm bad at math.

I'm usually in the south side of Chicago, Illinois, for college, but sometimes I'm in St. Louis, Missouri.

I'm became a vegetarian almost 10 years ago (summer of 1997, I think), and became a pseudo-vegan around two years ago. (note: I make an exception for honey in my veganism, because I don't think its production is morally objectionable (I hope I'm not sparking some great controversy here). I first became a vegan at college while still being ovo-lacto at home, because I didn't want to drive my mom crazy. Eventually, while talking with a counselor about 9 months ago about being more assertive, I decided to tell my mom that I was going full time vegan, and if she found this too onerous, I could cook for myself.) I don't consider my being veg*n a big part of my identity, and I'm not really an activist (although I am veg*n for ethical reasons, not health reasons). I suppose my view is that ethics is intuitive at its core, but should be subject to rational scrutiny. (I approach ethical matters with a mix of Humean sentimentalism, Benthamite utilitarianism, and Moorean intuitionism)