VeggieBoards banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
8,743 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Edited article, see <a href="http://sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/g/a/2007/04/03/petscol.DTL" target="_blank">http://sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cg...03/petscol.DTL</a><br><br>
for the whole.<br><br><br><br>
Bigger than you think: The story behind the pet food recall<br><br>
By Christie Keith, Special to SF Gate<br><br>
Tuesday, April 3, 2007<br><br><br><br>
...Early coverage reported only 10-15 cats and dogs dying after eating<br><br>
canned and pouched foods manufactured by Menu...<br><br><br><br>
...But I'm a contributing editor for a nationally syndicated pet feature,<br><br>
Universal Press Syndicate's Pet Connection, and all of us there have close<br><br>
ties to the veterinary profession. Two of our contributors are vets themselves...<br><br>
And what we were hearing from veterinarians wasn't matching what we were<br><br>
hearing on the news.<br><br><br><br>
When we started digging into the story, it quickly became clear that<br><br>
the implications of the recall were much larger than they first appeared.<br><br>
Most critically, it turned out that the initially reported tally of<br><br>
dead animals only included the cats and dogs who died in Menu's test lab<br><br>
and not the much larger number of affected pets.<br><br><br><br>
Second, the timeline of the recall raised a number of concerns.<br><br>
Although there have been some media reports that Menu Foods started<br><br>
getting complaints as early as December 2006, FDA records state the<br><br>
company received their first report of a food-related pet death on February 20.<br><br><br><br>
One week later, on February 27, Menu started testing the suspect foods.<br><br>
Three days later, on March 3, the first cat in the trial died of acute<br><br>
kidney failure. Three days after that, Menu switched wheat gluten<br><br>
suppliers, and 10 days later, on March 16, recalled the 91 products that<br><br>