VeggieBoards banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2,648 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I think I've mentioned before that I am a technician. It's a good job, although it's not really what I see myself doing forever.<br><br><br><br>
What I'd really like to do is teach middle school English or social studies. I've been researching the cost of going back to college to get a teaching degree, and I believe that it may be possible, thanks to some financial aid programs that my state is using to help deal with the teacher shortage.<br><br><br><br>
Before I rearrange my entire life, however, I'd like to be sure that this is really what I want. It's been a long time since I was in school, and I don't want to make my decision based on a romanticized, nostalgic view of what it was like, back then. (Although, quite frankly, there were more bad times than good.)<br><br><br><br>
I know it's a tough job. I also believe it's one that a person shouldn't do unless he or she is really dedicated and truly loves it. I really just want to be sure.<br><br><br><br>
Does anyone have any ideas as to how I might get some experience as to what the classroom environment is like, these days? I tried to volunteer at my little sister's school, but they would not allow it, as I am not a parent or legal guardian of a student.<br><br><br><br>
Thoughts? I know there are a couple of teachers on the boards, here...any input would be appreciated.<br><br><br><br>
^_^

·
Registered
201 Posts
I am in the process (and thinking I am going to be accepted) in the NYC Teaching Fellowship Program and be in a classroom at the end of June. I am also nervous about the challenges of teaching, but I hope the rewards out weight the negatives.<br><br><br><br>
I cannot offer you much advice at this time, but we'll see a year from now.<br><br><br><br>
Good luck whatever you do.

·
Registered
15,684 Posts