VeggieBoards banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
385 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been learning a Japanese martial art for a couple of years. Recently, my instructor and I have had a number of discussions about why there are so few women in our class. So I would like to survey any women on this board what their reasons are for not participating in a martial art. I understand that there are many people who are just plain not interested in martial arts and that's fine. However, my question is mostly to those of you ladies who would be interested in training in a martial art, but have not done so yet because ______ (fill in the blank). Also, if you trained for a while but then stopped going, I'd like to also know why. Thanks!

·
Registered
1,983 Posts
There are usually more females in my tae kwon do class than males. If everyone in the class showed up on the same day, there might be a few more men than women, but it's pretty close to being equal, at least among the regulars (it's a free class offered by the college, so there's no pressure for people to come to every lesson).

·
Registered
2,339 Posts
I've never done it because I've been too busy or too broke, and since my family owns a dance studio (thus the classes are free) I always went with dance rather than martial arts.

It's something I've wanted to do, however, and it never crossed my mind that my being female might be a barrier to it.

·
Registered
3,473 Posts
I love judo and was in it for quite a while. Unfortunately, I'm unable to attend classes for financial reasons, and because I do shift work, so I would have to miss a week of classes probably once or twice a month. I'd like to go back when I'm in a better situation.

·
Registered
278 Posts
I just recently started Bujinkan but up until then I never could find the time to start martial arts, though it had been an interest of mine for a time.

·
Registered
791 Posts