VeggieBoards banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
16,090 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The "Surprisingly Not Veg Foods" thread is a very useful thread, but with over 250 posts it's become rather hard to reference. So I'm making an attempt to catalog that thread and list everything that was mentioned. Please continue it with any new additions you might have to this list! When possible list the brand name and the offending ingredient.

These are foods that you thought for sure would be vegetarian or vegan but when you read the ingredients discovered they are not suitable for veg*ns!

"Veg*n" is an internet abbreviation for "vegetarian and/or vegan", so I've separated the list into those two categories. Keep in mind that ingredients do sometimes vary by location on some products, so something that is surprisingly not vegan for most people might be surprisingly vegan for others (such as Oreos). I removed products which have changed to now be suitable for veg*ns (eg, 8th Continent, Guinness, etc).

Surprisingly Not Vegetarian
  • Twinkies (Beef Fat)
  • Stovetop Stuffing, including flavours like "Cornbread" and "Mushroom and Onion" and "Savoury Herb." (Chicken Fat)
  • Yellow rice mixes. (Chicken Fat)
  • Worcestershire Sauce (Anchovies)
  • Smith's Salt and Vinegar Potato Chips (lactose)
  • candies and frostings in cereals (gelatin)
  • Hostess Moon pies, Zingers, fruit pies, etc. (beef fat)
  • Some fruit (shellac coating)
  • Some Dry Roasted Peanuts (gelatin)
  • Baked Lays BBQ Chips (chicken fat)
  • Junior Mints (gelatin)
  • Skittles and Starburst in US (gelatin)
  • Some potato wedges, and hash browns. (Beef tallow)
  • Many "Vegetable" Soups (Chicken stock)
  • Strawberry Nerds candy (carmine)
  • Some Lemon Pepper spices (chicken stock)
  • Smarties in UK (carmine)
  • Doritos Salsa Verde chips (chicken fat)
  • Most Altoids mints (gelatin)
  • Some Refried Beans (lard)
  • Jiffy Cornbread/Muffin mixes (lard)
  • Some yogurt (gelatin)
  • A few "Vegetarian" vitamins (gelatin/carmine/D3)
  • Ocean Spray pink cranberry juice cocktail (carmine)
  • Dannon strawberry yogurt (carmine)
  • Some spring rolls (fish sauce)
  • Rolaids Tropical Punch (carmine)
  • Rice Krispy Treats (gelatin)
  • Some restaurant-made Garlic Brocolli (chicken broth)
  • Ding Dongs (beef fat)
  • Gebhardt enchilada sauce (Beef fat)
  • Some packaged taco seasoning mixes (Beef fat)
  • Trader Joe's frozen Thai green beans (shrimp)
  • Trader Joe's frozen Pad Thais (chicken stock)
  • Caesar Dressings (anchovies)
  • Frosted Pop Tarts (gelatin)
  • Some frozen bisquits (beef tallow)
  • Moon Pies (gelatin)
  • McDonald's French Fries / Hashbrowns (beef flavoring)
  • McCains frozen cut potatoes (tallow)
  • Trader Joe's Instant Miso Soup (clam/bonito)
  • Birds Eye frozen Tuscan Vegetables (chicken)
  • Jello (gelatin)
  • Some cheeses are coagulated using rennet, which may be animal derived.

Surprisingly Not Vegan
  • Trident White (casein)
  • Most Soy Cheeses (casein)
  • Amy's Veggie Meat Loaf (honey)
  • Most Morningstar Farms products (egg whites)
  • Many Boca products (eggs/dairy)
  • Most margarine (whey)
  • Most breads (whey/honey)
  • dairy-free whipped cream (Casein)
  • Tofutti blintzes (Egg Whites)
  • Non-Dairy Creamer (casein)
  • Udon Noodles (whey)
  • Some guacamole (sour cream)
  • tofutti's chocolate chip cookies (egg whites)
  • "no-yolks" brand 'egg' noodles (egg whites)
  • Smart Balance Regular (whey) [Lite is vegan]
  • Some Instant Oatmeal (milk)
  • Fleishman's (Vit. D3)
  • Tropicana Orange Juice with Calcium (Vit. D3)
  • All Quorn Products (egg whites)
  • Vegetarian Vegetable Soup (egg whites)
  • Ritz bite size crackers (whey)
  • Amy's soy cheese pizzas (casein)
  • Amy's vegetable pie (honey)
  • Some Margarita Mixes (dry milk)
  • Sanitariun TVP (lactose)
  • Sanitarium 'Veggie Rashers' (lactose)
  • Some bread crumbs & croutons (cheese/whey)
  • Newman's Own Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups (milk)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16,090 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I don't think anyone wrote about "cheese" being not vegetarian because most vegetarians consider all cheese to be vegetarian regardless of whether it was coagulated with rennet or not. But yeah, if you don't, then most cheese is out.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
964 Posts
A lot of junk food on the list! I found it best to stay away from most of those foods anyway, but now I have even better reason to stay away from them!
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top