VeggieBoards banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,783 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just wasted some time driving around looking for hamburger buns without this stupid ingredient. I found none. I am so mad right now. Why is being (or trying to be) vegan so damn hard? Since when is some crap from rendered dead animals essential to making bread? What's the point in avoiding products from animals if it makes my life miserable?



Part of me says "Well, just buy the buns. You have no choice really." Then another part says "They're made from rotten dead animals. Do you want to be a vegan or not?"

I'm using some bagels my parents bought this morning instead. There is no ingredient list, but if there were I'm sure it would include diglycerides or stearoyl-2-lactylate or eye of newt or something stupid.

I just can't win.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
42,411 Posts
Who's keeping score? I'm impressed by your commitment to being as vegan as you can, but do your best and don't stress out about the stuff you can't know about right now. I think it was FemmeDemonica who once said that veganism is a journey, and there's no such thing as a perfect vegan. BTW, you have a lot more willpower than I do in relation to things like mono- and diglycerides. Sometimes I cave in and eat the frickin' danish anyway.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
238,393 Posts
Grrr, there's not any vegan buns at the grocery store I go to or my local HFS.
Luckily, I have found some vegan buns at a really cool vegan place, but I live far from it. Hopefully, I'll go there somtime soon again.

Before I found those buns, I just ate my burgers on my vegan bran bread, not too bad, but not that great.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,438 Posts
i hear ya, i desperately needed a piece of dry toast at my friends this morning. amazingly enough the bread was perfect till i saw that ingredient.

as far as buns go, i usually can find them even at a regular grocery store but if not health food stores have them. not sure if you live around one tho. anyway good luck. as far as veganism being hard, dont worry, the longer you are one, the easier it gets, it just becomes natural and you pretty much become familiar with what has what in it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,703 Posts
You should be able to find some buns. More locally made buns could be without this ingredient

why not try making hamburger buns ...... takes only minutes to make dough (flour,water,yeast,salt and whatever) and let it rise covered for 45 minutes if you want while you do other stuff... make into small mounds on a pan and bake. You can make like 8 buns on a pan and they are good
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
238,393 Posts
Hey guys, I have the same problem, here is the recipe I use:

http://www.vegsource.com/talk/recipe...ges/60140.html

I have used half white and half wheat, half white spelt and half wheat spelt flour, all water, and also I have added 1/2 tsp. vinegar and 1/4 tsp. soy lecthin added to the water/milk/egg replacer mix. I have used margarine, soy oil and safflower oil.

I like them best with the lecthin, vineger, all water, soy oil, half wheat and half white or half wheat and half white spelt flour. This is Deb's recipe, and they are soooooo good
Shannon
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
505 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by Peebs

I just wasted some time driving around looking for hamburger buns without this stupid ingredient. I found none.
I think finding vegan bread has been the most frustrating thing for me since turning vegan. I had no idea it was going to be so hard......until my first day of veganism I attempted to find a loaf at a supermarket and couldn't find one loaf I could buy. I have found that some of the brands at the health food store are too dry and/or grainy for my tastes. There's one brand that a local supermarket recently has had that's really good and actually vegan, but most times they don't have it. It is so annoying
.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
238,393 Posts
Haven't any of you heard of Kosher (Kashrut)? It's really useful to figure out what is vegetarian or not. Jews have really strict dietary laws regarding what they can eat. They can't mix meat with milk and they also have a set of food called Parve, meaning no meat or milk (but it can have eggs and fish
) Also, for Orthodox Jews, all the food they eat has to be Chekshered, meaning marked with a symbol that shows that the food is under Rabbinic supervision. So, if you're looking for vegetarian buns, or bread, or anything like that, just look for something with a Checksher such as the letter U inside a circle (Orthodox Union), or a K over a V over an H, and lots of other checkshers, too. If the symbol has a D next to it, it's dairy, but if it says parve then there is no dairy. Either way, you can be guaranteed that there is no meat in it. This is also good for lacto-vegetarians who want to eat cheese without rennet, though kosher cheese is a bit tougher to find than other kosher products.

-Eric

P.S. This is my first post, I'm new here. I'm a vegetarian going on vegan
 
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top