VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 147 Posts

·
Registered
178 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
....but the more I learn about veg*nism, the more I sense that there is some kind of "pecking order" and that some full-on vegans - SOME - sometimes imply that they are somehow "better" than vegetarians that have chosen not to live the same way.

Isn't that a bit, well ....."wrong"?

Aren't we all in the same family? Aren't we all looking at the same purpose?

I realise I'm new to this and that I might be reading the signals I'm getting a little wrong, but, is this the case?

I'm not comfortable eating meat. So I stopped.

Isn't that why we're all here?

·
Registered
889 Posts
I've said it elsewhere.

Don't believe anyone--vegan or otherwise--who says that becoming a vegetarian isn't doing enough for the animals. They're hypocrites who have no room to speak, especially if they're telling you so through an internet forum.

·
Ankle Biter
9,333 Posts
Ignore those who imply that they are better than you for what they do or do not eat.

There is no pecking order.

You're doing great!

·
Registered
197 Posts
I've always felt this way too. And it didn't help when I go to the vegetarian fb page and all they do us criticize me for not being vegan. I've called them out on that tho

·
Registered
3,897 Posts
For the most part everyone here on this forum will be supportive of you simply for removing meat from your diet. If/when you encounter others who aren't so accepting of your being vegetarian... simply ignore them. Very few people are born vegan, and most made the transition in much the same way you have. Don't let it get you down! All vegetarians are welcome here.

·
Registered
7,577 Posts
AFAIC there's no pecking order, but there's definitely differing levels of committment to ending animal suffering that people are prepared to get involved in.