VeggieBoards banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
167 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
are there any vegan sprinkles, besides the organic kind that come in a box? are any of the wilton brand/dec-a-cake brand sprinkles vegan? i can't see spending so much on a box of sprinkles that i have to go out of my way to get.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
373 Posts
I'm not sure about wilton's. Some brands are vegan but some have bees wax in them. The grocery store I shop at has Cake Mate brand that uses carnauba wax instead of bees wax.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,172 Posts
The only two things you need to wach out for are beeswax and red 40, but most vegans eat red 40 and not many sprinkles contain beeswax, so your mostly good... but still just read the ingrediants
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
373 Posts
As far as I can tell red 40 is vegan.

(bold mine)

http://www.standardcon.com/allurared.htm

Quote:
Food colour allura red is a Orange red synthetic azo dye...

FD&C No. Red 40 ...

Chemical Name Disodium 2- hydroxy- 1 -(2-Methoxy- 5 -methyl -4-sulfonatophenylazo) Napthalene 6-sulphonate
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allura_Red_AC

Quote:
Despite the popular misconception, Allura Red AC is not derived from the cochineal insect.
Full of chemicals and probably not healthy but still vegan as far as I can tell. Of course if your looking for sprinkles your probably not making health food.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
167 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
how about confectioner's glaze? i can get a bulk sized sprinkles jar, but that's really the only ingredient i have that's in question, and though i emailed the company who makes them, they've yet to reply (it's been a month)
 
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top