VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am the only vegetarian here in the Emergency Room where I work as a RN. Has anyone gotten slack over the spinach issues that are going on. All I hear is about how they (my coworkers) are glad that they are not going to die from E.boli. Any advice?

Veggienurse

·
Registered
19,134 Posts
Um, because veg*ns are the only ones who eat spinach? It would hardly be a major, nation-wide news story were that true.

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
my coworkers act like they are happy that there is a problem with the spinach. I am like......duh.......mad cow!!!

·
Registered
19,134 Posts
No kidding, lol. What about Salmonella or Campylobacter? You'd think medical staff would know this stuff!
Not to mention heart disease...etc.

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Regardless, (I tell them).....eat your veggies!! So maybe this is a rare moment when someone died from eating spinach. But......how many die from obesity related illnesses? Heart disease and diabetes.....and all of the toxins in food has got to be the reason for so much cancer. I am sure the government doesn't want to release that information.

·
Registered
5,691 Posts
Wow, that's really moronic. It's fully as stupid as the woman I once knew who said she was a vegetarian for health reasons-- she believed that eating only vegetables would protect her from foodborne pathogens. I'm sure if she explains politely to those E.coli that she's a veggie and doesn't deserve to be infected, they'll be more than happy to leave!

·
Registered
1,906 Posts
yes, improperly cooked meat can contain the same dangerous strains of e. coli.

and i'll just echo what jen said: do they not eat any vegetables?

·
Registered
820 Posts
E. Coli ends up in vegetables due to contamination from human or animal waste. E. Coli doesn't just magically appear on vegetables in a vacuum.