VeggieBoards banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2,511 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been working out pretty consistently for about 3 years (I've lost 50 pounds, yay me!) and my knees ache constantly (my knees hurt from running, jumping, lunges, squats, etc.) I've tried going to a doctor about it when it gets really bad but they just give me painkillers and tell me to stop working out until it stops hurting. But then when I start working out again, the pain comes back.

Obviouly not working out is not an option and going back to the doctor repeatedly isn't helping. I have several friends taking glucosamine for knee pain and they say it works great and highly recommend it. However, glucosamine is made from crab shells so it's not vegetarian. Is there a vegetarian alternative that works just as well? Any ideas to help with my knee pain that don't involve suppliments?

BTW, riding a bicycle for my cardio is not an option for me. I'm a lousy bike rider and I think non-impact cardio machines are about as much fun as watching paint dry. I really enjoy my current workouts (running and intermediate to advanced aerobic weight training videos), I just think my workouts will be better and more effective without the knee pain.

·
Registered
441 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by codemonkey View Post

just give me painkillers and tell me to stop working out until it stops hurting. But then when I start working out again, the pain comes back.
that's the issue, right there. you cannot keep doing it - it's really that simple. you could risk major injury , and you'll have to do cardio that doesn't involve so much knee pain.

can you see a sports doctor? unless they are specialized, they probably don't have much a clue.

·
Registered
19,134 Posts
I know you said you're not a machine fan, but maybe a low-rise eliptical machine wouldn't be too bad. I have a bum knee and this was a great one for me (when it was available