VeggieBoards banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Banned
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
VEGETARIAN:
Vegetarian is a blanket term used to describe a person who does not consume meat, poultry, fish, or seafood.

This grouping includes vegans and the various sub- categories of vegetarian; however, it generally implies someone who has less dietary restrictions than a vegan.

SEMI-VEGETARIAN:
The term semi-vegetarian is usually used to describe someone who is a vegetarian who consumes dairy products, eggs, chicken, and fish, but does not consume other animal flesh.

OVO-LACTO-VEGETARIAN:
Ovo-lacto vegetarians are vegetarians who do not consume meat, poultry, fish, and seafood, but do consume eggs and milk. This is the largest group of vegetarians.

OVO-VEGETARIAN:
Ovo-vegetarian is a term used to describe someone who would be a vegan if they did not consume eggs.

LACTO-VEGETARIAN:
Lacto-vegetarian is a term used to describe someone who would be a vegan if they did not consume milk.

VEGAN:
Vegan is the strictest sub-category of vegetarians. Vegans do not consume any animal products or by-products. Some go as far as not even consuming honey and yeast. Others do not wear any clothing made from animal products.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
16,664 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Alvarado View Post

VEGETARIAN:
Vegetarian is a blanket term used to describe a person who does not consume meat, poultry, fish, or seafood.

This grouping includes vegans and the various sub- categories of vegetarian; however, it generally implies someone who has less dietary restrictions than a vegan.

SEMI-VEGETARIAN:
The term semi-vegetarian is usually used to describe someone who is a vegetarian who consumes dairy products, eggs, chicken, and fish, but does not consume other animal flesh.

OVO-LACTO-VEGETARIAN:
Ovo-lacto vegetarians are vegetarians who do not consume meat, poultry, fish, and seafood, but do consume eggs and milk. This is the largest group of vegetarians.

OVO-VEGETARIAN:
Ovo-vegetarian is a term used to describe someone who would be a vegan if they did not consume eggs.

LACTO-VEGETARIAN:
Lacto-vegetarian is a term used to describe someone who would be a vegan if they did not consume milk.

VEGAN:
Vegan is the strictest sub-category of vegetarians. Vegans do not consume any animal products or by-products. Some go as far as not even consuming honey and yeast. Others do not wear any clothing made from animal products.
A couple corrections:

I wouldn't consider "Semi-vegetarian" a real term, someone who eats chicken and fish is not a vegetarian at all.

Also, honey is definitely not vegan, no vegans eat honey. However, yeast IS vegan and not sentient, technically it's fungi like mushrooms. And veganism is a lifestyle that excludes the use of all animal products not just food so all vegans avoid clothing made from animal products and things tested on animals not just some.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
16,664 Posts
That explains SO much, I was wondering!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
526 Posts
Troll!!! LOL, yeah he made a few mistakes in there. Spambots... I've never heard of that term before...
 
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
Top