VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,445 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I used to get sick quite frequently- it seemed like I always had a cold.

Since becoming a lacto-ovo vegetarian this September, I have not gotten sick once. It seems that every single person on my floor (I live in a dorm) has been sick with awful colds and sore throats for the past few weeks.

Not me!

My roommate is constantly sick, and a few weeks ago she had a terrible cough and fever. And I didn't get sick!!

Have you noticed this as well? Fewer colds, etc?

Is it related to my healthier diet, or is it just a coincidence?

·
Registered
573 Posts
Um...well I noticed the same thing, sort of. I wasn't sick constantly before I was a vegetarian, but I got the normal occassional colds and whatnot like everybody else.

I've been eating a healthy diet for about 3 years now, and yeah I have noticed a difference. It's not really that I don't get sick, but when I do I don't stay sick for long and it's not that bad. My husband had a virus or something for about a week and a half recently, he was in bad shape and in bed a couple of days. I got very similar symptoms, but they were gone the next day. I never had to call in to work or anything.

But that is after three years of eating no meat, little dairy, more whole foods, more organic, more raw, etc. I highly doubt just quitting meat 2 months ago would result in that drastic of a change in your immune system.

·
Registered
195 Posts
It might be 'cos your consuming more vitamin C from fruits and veggies, and that's good for the immune sytem.

I've noticed since going vegan, if I do get a cold, then I (gross alert) don't produce so much snot as I used to and I hear that's because milk produces mucus or summit.

·
Registered
1,921 Posts
I haven't caught anything since becoming vegetarian over a year ago, and I feel even better ever since going vegan. This is despite living with a school aged daughter, and working at her school.