VeggieBoards banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Saving necks is one of my favorite pastimes. Be they little spider necks that get caught in the house, chipmunks I have to extricate from my cat's jaws or baby birds pushed out of the nest. Nothing makes me happier than swooping in and saving a life. And depending on the circumstances, sometimes I can ride that particular neck-saving for several days.<br><br><br><br>
Let me tell you a story of a recent domesticated neck I saved. It was after school (I'm a teacher) and I was lying on my bed watching Roseanne. When I glimpsed out of the corner of my eye movement on the front porch I immediately ran to the window because I thought it was my cat and I wanted to rap on the pane so I could wave to her. I do love her so!<br><br><br><br>
When I got to the window I was surprised to find a white ferret on my front porch sniffing the wicker rocking chair! I ran to the door, thinking the animal would run off as soon as it saw me. But when I opened the door and stepped out he put his little ferret paws on my leg and gave me this beseeching look. I picked him up and said "this is your lucky day. Your neck has just been saved."<br><br><br><br>
After making some calls to various vets and putting signs up, no affirmative response came in so I knew I had to farm this animal out to someone as I am not a fan of ferrets. The next day at work I sent an email to the entire faculty asking if anyone wanted the perfect addition to their family. Actually I got several positive inquiries but finally settled on a guy in the math department who (with his loving wife) already had four ferrets! He said they were like his children and that he'd be happy to take on another. And so that day he came home with me, met the ferret and promptly took him to the vet.<br><br><br><br>