VeggieBoards banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
191 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone !

My housemates and I have an empty room for 2 and we are looking to fill it.
I'm currently out of the country, so just drop me a mail/reply here and i'll send you a couple of pictures as well as the details of my housemates who can take care of the visit.
Note that, as far as i know, due to the gaz price increase, the bill might be like £10-20 higher than stated in the ad below. Check that with my housemates if you're interested.
Personnally, I'd really like vegetarian/vegans to move in with us, that's why I'm posting it here (moderators, I hope it is OK).

Here is the description :

We are looking for a couple or two people sharing to join our already-established houseshare in Crouch End in North London.

A little bit about us and the house:
We are 6 people already, 5 males and 1 female, in our late 20s/early 30s. We moved in together in November last year, some of us strangers, some already friends, and we are all really keen on getting nice new people in as our last two housemates sadly moved out this summer.

We try as much as we can to 'live together'. We've got a great lounge that we hang out in several evenings a week. For entertainment, we've got our own in-house jazz pianist, a beer fridge, an open fire place and lots of DVDs. We also try and cook for each other, though this doesn't happen as much as we'd like it to. We've currently got 2 vegetarians and 1 vegan in the house (that's me
).

We've also put in a lot of hours in the garden. There is one picture of the garden as it was in November when we first moved in. We've since then removed lots of brambles and started a veg plot. At the moment, we've got tomatoes, beans, rhubarb, and lots of courgettes, with plans for much more to go in as and when we get around to it. We've also built a firepit in the back (under the stop sign), next to the pond, as our garden is actually twice as long as we thought when we first moved in! It's a lovely lovely garden in the summer, and there is still plenty more to do in it for anybody who would be so inclined (though you don't need to be a gardening lover to move in with us).

The house itself is spacious enough for 8 people, with two bathrooms and one ensuite. Only three people work 9-5, so there are rarely morning clashes over the shower. For common areas we've got a dining table in the front 'hall', the lounge mentioned above, and a nice well-equipped kitchen.

The room that is available faces towards the back of the house and will be part-furnished with a double bed, a wardrobe, and a chest of drawers, with plenty of space for more furniture. The attached picture is of the room as it was when we moved in.

About us: We are all professionals and our ages range from 25 - early 30s. Occupations include IT, lighting engineering & design, translation, and environmental charity work. We've got three different nationalities so far: British, Danish, and French (that's me again
).

We're all a friendly bunch and are really very in love with our house (we had to look around a bit before we found the perfect one!).

And, the local area:
We are in a quiet residential area, just a few minutes walk from Crouch End, which has lots of nice cafes, shops, pubs (we are in the process of testing out all the local pub quizzes), and a few supermarkets. We are also a short walk from woods and parks (incl Alexandra Palace). In terms of transport, we are 15 minutes from Highgate (zone 3 on the Northern Line) or 15 minutes by bus from Finsbury Park (zone 2, Piccadilly and Victoria lines and National Rail). There is also a bus that can get you to Kings Cross in 30 minutes.

As for the practical stuff:
The room is available right now. As we'll be sub-letting it directly to you, not through our landlord, we can also be flexible about the contract, and would be interested to hear from you whether you want to stay a short or a long time, as we know short-terms contracts can be particularly hard to come by in London sometimes.

The rent for the room is £690 + £130 for all bills (incl unlimited high-speed cable wireless internet), per month, so £820 overall. The deposit is £1072.50.

If you're still interested after reading all of this and think you would be a good match for us, get in touch with a little information about yourself and we can arrange a viewing and a meet-up.
 
1 - 1 of 1 Posts
Top