VeggieBoards banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A long time ago in a galaxy far far away...... ok I had to do that but in all seriousness, what happened to the sports threads? There used to be some when the force was strong in this one. I remember talking baseball with KC, Michael and lots of other heads. I also remember football (both college and pro) talk. As much as I get that a percentage of veg'ans are not into "mainstream" sports ( and that would have included me at one point in my life) I've gotten to where I like sports (well ok, as much as I like Scrabble or Sorry I've never broken a sweat playing) and have gotten comfortable wit the fact that I'm a big contradiction (well according to some). I don't eat, wear or use animal products or things that contain them, I like to cook, garden, read, play role playing games, and also love baseball and to a lesser extent, other sports. Heck, my profession is traditionally female (teaching). Getting my masters 75% of the classes were women.Anyways I degress. I like things that are "manly" and those that are less so. Sue me. As a result I wanna restart a sports talk thread. So have at it.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Are there any baseball fans out there? Post favorite team(s), fav player and why? Did you play in high school or college? position? I'll start.

I divided it up into American League and National League because aside for the short 2 weeks of interleague the teams don't play and the Designated Hitter rule in AL makes the rules slightly different as well as changes the way the game can be played. Also some NL fans dispise the AL because of the DH rule.

American League

Athletics, hands down. My Grandpa (and Grandma) raised me on baseball. Grandpa played in a Seniors league well into his 60's and Grandma taught me to keep score and record scores and plays like the officials do.