VeggieBoards banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! I thought I'd reintroduce myself since I've been gone from Veggie Boards for the last 6 months or so.

I'm Maureen. I'm a college English teacher that moved from Maine to the Caribbean (St. Kitts) last summer. I was a long time veggie who went vegan last year, and I was at about 80% raw when I moved down here. I was really big on juicing.

What a change in my diet has occurred! The move has come with loads of adjustment.

I'm still adjusting. I cannot figure out how to live vegan down here as there just isn't enough green protein available, so I thought I'd return to the Boards for help and support. I don't want to eat dairy, but I'm on an island where spinach doesn't grow well and leafy greens are not readily available at the grocery stores or fresh market. I've tried growing my own spinach unsuccessfully, causing quite a bug infestation that made it's way inside. It seems pesticides are necessary for plant survival here, but I don't know enough about natural pesticides, so I'm here, asking for help.

It's good to be back.

Because it's an island, fish is the main food source, so people often say stuff like, "Oh, you're a vegetarian - no problem. I know a restaurant that serves the freshest fish ...." They're just trying to be helpful. The idea of not eating fish is sort of nutty to them. Last night I was at a restaurant that had a dish with scallops wrapped in bacon. Underneath, it said, "For our vegetarian friends, we happily will remove the bacon!" Pretty funny. The special for the night, the waitress announced, was foie gras. I won't be returning there again! It's a meat-eater's paradise.

It's been an exciting challenge, and the fruit here is spectacular - always available, always delicious, always cheap - but I'm struggling with the absence of spinach/bok choy/collards/etc in my diet. I have never even seen broccoli sold outside of a restaurant.

Help!

Maureen

·