VeggieBoards banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,211 Posts
In the american system, a red followed by a number means that it is synthetic. Red 3 and red 40 are synthetic azo dyes. They won't be animal derived at all. The only red colour that isn't vegan is my arch-nemesis, carmine.<br><br><br><br>
However, as carmine is a natural colour, it won't be followed by a number, so if a product does contain carmine, then the label will say "carmine" or "carminic acid" or "cochineal" and for those that live in Europe, "E120" Carmine is derived from insects, and is therefore not vegetarian or vegan
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,211 Posts
Titanium dioxide (E171) is vegan as well. It's a mineral, apparently. All I know is that it's not from animals. It's a white food colouring.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,180 Posts
Dude, Loki, I'm staggered by your knowledge of Reds. At the same time this is shockingly useful information and thanks.<br><br><br><br>
I guess you're the man to ask about candies, huh? I'll be asking a lot.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
0 Posts
Loki, you are so wise. I remember you telling us about cochineal and I didn't get the Sobe I wanted because it contained this. Damn Sobe!<br><br>
Shannon
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
330 Posts
Kat new, its 120. See this page for more numbers.<br><br><br><br><a href="http://www.foodstandards.gov.au/mediareleasespublications/publications/shoppersguide/index.cfm" target="_blank">http://www.foodstandards.gov.au/medi...uide/index.cfm</a>
 
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
Top