VeggieBoards banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
828 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would like to read some academic books about the environment. I'm doing a master's degree in Natural Resource Management next year so I want to get a head start this summer on a directed readings course.

Anyone read any good non-fiction books in this area?

·
Registered
794 Posts
There's one called The Global Environmental Movement, by J McCormick which was quite a good read, I seem to recall. I'm not sure if it's still in print, though...

·
Registered
2,907 Posts
I've been reading a book, " Fatal Harvest, The Tragedy of Industrial Agriculture" by Andrew Kimbrell. There are two versions, one is a photographic essay ( men in Hazmat suits spraying pesticides, ect.) the other is the reader. Here are a few other books I've read on the environment I'd reccomend:

The End of Nature- Bill McKibben

Toxic Sludge is Good For You! Lies,Damn Lies and the Public Relations Industry-John Stauber and Sheldon Rampton

Silent Spring-Rachel Carson

·
Banned
5,034 Posts
Naked Ape to Superspecies and it's "follow-up" Good News for a Change: Hope for a Troubled Planet by David Suzuki and Holly Dressel are very good.

·
Banned
1,045 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by punkmommy

The End of Nature- Bill McKibben
one of my favorite books! a copy's lying next to me on my desk. i think i recommended it in another thread in this forum

anyway, here's a list of books from my Human Ecology course:

Changes in the Land by Cronon

Savages by Kane

The Third Revolution by Harrison

Juggernaut by Grant

Love Canal The Story Continues by Gibbs

Eco-Sanity by Bast

Green Rage by Manes

i'll see if i can figure out other books from other courses later. the only ones i remember off the top of my head is:

The Doubly Green Revolution: Food For All in the 21st Century by Conway

The Sky Unwashed by Zabytko

i wouldn't label some of these as academic but they're all well worth the read.

·
Registered
3,265 Posts