VeggieBoards banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm new to the vegan world. I'm moving toward this direction slowely and am trying to make sure i'm eating a well balenced vegan diet. Do you eat certain foods each day like flax seed oil for Omega-3, blackstrap molassis for iron, almonds for calcium etc.. How aware are you of what you're eating each day? Do you think vegans need to eat particular foods each day for optimal health?

Thanks for your thoughts.

·
Banned
2,612 Posts
Lots of pills. powder. Bananas. Beer. That's how I do it. Of course, my body is not so much a temple as much as it is a dumptruck.

There will be a plethora of more helpful postings from smarter vegans and vegetarians. But it's nice to make your acquaintance nonetheless.

·
Registered
262 Posts
I take an Omega-3 flaxseed oil capsule everyday. As for the rest, I eat a variety of vegetables to get my protein, calcium, and iron, as well as all the other good stuff. For my B12 I get that from my breakfast cereal or from vitamins I take occasionally.

(First post here for me, yay!)

·
Banned
1,045 Posts
yeah, i try to eat certain foods each day, although it doesn't always happen that way. fortified soy milk, lots of beans, and spinach are everyday items for me. i also sprinkle flaxseed on my cereal a lot and eat clif bars every other day or so just in case. i really don't think you have to worry about getting enough of everything too much as long as you make sure to eat a variety of foods that are good for different vitamins/minerals.

almonds for calcium? i didn't know that
and btw, dried fruit is a very good source of iron - mmm how i love fruit & nut mixes.

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·