VeggieBoards banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
787 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a first-year pre-Education student (elementary years with teaching areas in English and biology) and am madly searching for summer employment. I had no idea it would be so difficult! There are plenty of options available in retail and food services, but I'm really after something that will provide me with more child care experience in preparation for the program I hope to enter.<br><br><br><br>
So far, I've considered working as a nanny or camp counselor (and am planning to apply for several positions), but could anyone suggest other jobs which might be worth considering?<br><br><br><br>
Help!

11,550 Posts
do you have any museums or science centres near you? somewhere that is quite hands on? you could get a job working with kids in interactive exhibits- getting them involved in learning things and having fun- something like this would give you experience of working with kids, as aposed to looking after them- i think the interaction can be somewhat different.<br><br><br><br>
similarly if you've got local libraries, youth groups, churches or schools nearby, running literature/creative writing/english as a second language, (or even things that use similar skills, like movie making, drama, cookery, etc) summer schemes with kids- they'd probably appreciate a student with a keen interest in the specialty area they're working in and it'd be good experience for you.<br><br><br><br>