VeggieBoards banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this, so I am not sure if I am doing this right!!! I need help! I have a cat who is about a year and a half, and a dog that will be a year old the end of this month (october). Recently in the last month my cat has been attacking my dog....FOR NO REASON!!!! He used to cuddle with her all the time, and vice versa.....well ......now...he will go to another room, and she will end up chasing him, and hissing and scratching him. Like she stalks him....he runs from her , and she chases him still hissing and growling. I love my animals, and I don't want to get rid of her....BUT....she has to STOP doing this to him!!! Does anyone have any ideas???? Please???

·
Registered
995 Posts
What type of dog and what type of cat?<br><br>
Is the kitty spayed?<br><br>
The cat is not doing this for no reason at all, there is a reason you just have to think hard on what it might be.<br><br>
I have a cat that attacks one dog on sight, and I had a foster that would attack ANY otehr animal that moved.<br><br>
With the foster it was a territorial issue, she was not spayed yet and was highly aggressive to other animals on "her" turf.<br><br><br><br>
The other kitty who happens to be mine only attacks one certain dog, that is because this dog is question is a food thief and kitty does not take kindly to that. So it is a type of defence behavior.<br><br><br><br>
There is something causeing the behavior you just need to find out what it is.<br><br>
It could be somethign as simple as stress, my Jaqualine ( a cat) has sever emotional problems and gets stressed and starts attacking everything, cats, dogs, children, stuffed animals you name it she hates it.<br><br><br><br>
I put in Feliway and suddenly all the behavior went poof.<br><br>
She is now a happy cat, who has issues with stealing shiney things to hide and play with but other than that.<br><br><br><br>