VeggieBoards banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
PepsiCo won't reveal what makes Diet Pepsi non-vegan

http://metro.co.uk/2017/03/07/pepsi-wont-say-what-it-is-that-makes-diet-pepsi-non-vegan-6493741/

Diet Pepsi is, for some reason, not vegan – but PepsiCo won’t say what’s actually in it.

Rather disturbingly, the soft drink giant is refusing to reveal what animal ingredient is used in their diet version that makes it unsuitable for those following a vegan diet.
Former BNP leader Nick Griffin is 'moving to Hungary'

This is despite repeated requests to PepsiCo to reveal what the offending ingredient is, in case people have religious concerns or allergies.

A spokeswoman told Metro.co.uk that they would not reveal any part of their ‘recipe’ because it’s considered ‘commercially sensitive information’.

However when we asked them to only clarify what the non-vegan ingredient or ingredients are, they doubled down.

@ashnagesh @pepsi Hi A****ha sorry Diet Pepsi is still non-vegan in the UK, apologies!

— Pepsi Max @pepsiMaxUK) March 2, 2017

@NicoleMorleyPet @pepsiMaxUK @ashnagesh I'm excited for the new BEEF BLAST flavour from @pepsi

Paul Hardcastle (@hardcastIe) March 02, 2017

In a pre-prepared statement later sent to Metro.co.uk, the company said: ‘We can confirm that regular Pepsi and Pepsi MAX are suitable for vegetarians and vegans. Diet Pepsi is only suitable for vegetarians as it contain traces of ingredients that are not suitable for people following a vegan diet.’

A spokesperson for Britvic – which produces and distributes Pepsi in the UK – also told Metro.co.uk that Diet Pepsi was not suitable for vegans, but said they didn’t actually know what the ingredient is because it’s ‘commercially sensitive’.

Also included in a list of non-vegan Britvic drinks were 7Up Free, Robinsons Fruit Shoot My Five Apple and Blackcurrant, and Pepsi Diet Caffeine Free.
What is in Diet Pepsi that makes it non-vegan?
Give the Diet Pepsi a miss (Picture: Getty Images)

Previous investigations by vegan bloggers such as Fat Gay Vegan have found that a number of soft drinks and flavoured ciders contain fish gelatine, which is non-vegetarian; beef gelatine, which is non-vegetarian and prohibited by Hindus; and pork gelatine, which is non-vegetarian and forbidden for Muslims and Jewish people.

This includes some drinks made by Coca Cola (not including Coke or Diet Coke, phew), which are therefore not even vegetarian.
Kate McCann threatens legal action on anyone who posts Madeleine book online

According to the Coca Cola site: ‘If you’re a vegan or vegetarian, you should know that a few of our drinks do contain small traces of fish gelatine (which is used as a stabiliser for the beta-carotene colour).

‘These drinks are Lilt, Lilt Zero, Kia-Ora Orange Squash No Added Sugar, and Schweppes Orange Squash.’

And some fruit juices, including those served at Wagamama, are classified as non-vegan because the fruit used is waxed with shellac – a resin gathered from the ‘lac’ beetle.

So if you’d rather unspecified animal parts were left out of your fizzy drinks, you should probably avoid Diet Pepsi. And 7Up Free. And Lilt…
 

·
Vegan since 1991
Joined
·
3,660 Posts
Interesting article!


The article says that some drinks made by the Coca Cola company are not vegetarian (luckily, actual Coke and Diet Coke are vegan, thanks the gawds of junk food).


I don't worry too much about trace ingredients. At some markets, certain fruit is waxed using insect-derived luster coatings and/or vegetable-based wax. Some tasty junk foods "may contain trace amounts of dairy, fish, tree nuts, etc etc." Ah, the vegan gamble.


.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,793 Posts
PepsiCo won't reveal what makes Diet Pepsi non-vegan

http://metro.co.uk/2017/03/07/pepsi-wont-say-what-it-is-that-makes-diet-pepsi-non-vegan-6493741/

Diet Pepsi is, for some reason, not vegan – but PepsiCo won’t say what’s actually in it.

Rather disturbingly, the soft drink giant is refusing to reveal what animal ingredient is used in their diet version that makes it unsuitable for those following a vegan diet.
Former BNP leader Nick Griffin is 'moving to Hungary'

This is despite repeated requests to PepsiCo to reveal what the offending ingredient is, in case people have religious concerns or allergies.

A spokeswoman told Metro.co.uk that they would not reveal any part of their ‘recipe’ because it’s considered ‘commercially sensitive information’.

However when we asked them to only clarify what the non-vegan ingredient or ingredients are, they doubled down.

@ashnagesh @pepsi Hi A****ha sorry Diet Pepsi is still non-vegan in the UK, apologies!

— Pepsi Max @pepsiMaxUK) March 2, 2017

@NicoleMorleyPet @pepsiMaxUK @ashnagesh I'm excited for the new BEEF BLAST flavour from @pepsi

Paul Hardcastle (@hardcastIe) March 02, 2017

In a pre-prepared statement later sent to Metro.co.uk, the company said: ‘We can confirm that regular Pepsi and Pepsi MAX are suitable for vegetarians and vegans. Diet Pepsi is only suitable for vegetarians as it contain traces of ingredients that are not suitable for people following a vegan diet.’

A spokesperson for Britvic – which produces and distributes Pepsi in the UK – also told Metro.co.uk that Diet Pepsi was not suitable for vegans, but said they didn’t actually know what the ingredient is because it’s ‘commercially sensitive’.

Also included in a list of non-vegan Britvic drinks were 7Up Free, Robinsons Fruit Shoot My Five Apple and Blackcurrant, and Pepsi Diet Caffeine Free.
What is in Diet Pepsi that makes it non-vegan?
Give the Diet Pepsi a miss (Picture: Getty Images)

Previous investigations by vegan bloggers such as Fat Gay Vegan have found that a number of soft drinks and flavoured ciders contain fish gelatine, which is non-vegetarian; beef gelatine, which is non-vegetarian and prohibited by Hindus; and pork gelatine, which is non-vegetarian and forbidden for Muslims and Jewish people.

This includes some drinks made by Coca Cola (not including Coke or Diet Coke, phew), which are therefore not even vegetarian.
Kate McCann threatens legal action on anyone who posts Madeleine book online

According to the Coca Cola site: ‘If you’re a vegan or vegetarian, you should know that a few of our drinks do contain small traces of fish gelatine (which is used as a stabiliser for the beta-carotene colour).

‘These drinks are Lilt, Lilt Zero, Kia-Ora Orange Squash No Added Sugar, and Schweppes Orange Squash.’

And some fruit juices, including those served at Wagamama, are classified as non-vegan because the fruit used is waxed with shellac – a resin gathered from the ‘lac’ beetle.

So if you’d rather unspecified animal parts were left out of your fizzy drinks, you should probably avoid Diet Pepsi. And 7Up Free. And Lilt…
Interesting article!


The article says that some drinks made by the Coca Cola company are not vegetarian (luckily, actual Coke and Diet Coke are vegan, thanks the gawds of junk food).


I don't worry too much about trace ingredients. At some markets, certain fruit is waxed using insect-derived luster coatings and/or vegetable-based wax. Some tasty junk foods "may contain trace amounts of dairy, fish, tree nuts, etc etc." Ah, the vegan gamble.


.
WHY do they need to make a soft drink non vegan??!!:gun::whip::notvegan:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,330 Posts
WHY do they need to make a soft drink non vegan??!!:gun::whip::notvegan:
Apart from the odd G&T, I don't think I've had a fizzy drink in the last 30 years, certainly not a cola. All that highly sophisticated advertising has been lost on me!

Lv
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
In an official statement to Metro, a spokesperson for PepsiCo said “We can confirm that regular Pepsi and Pepsi Max are suitable for vegetarians and vegans. Diet Pepsi is only suitable for vegetarians as it contains traces of ingredients that are not suitable for people following a vegan diet.”
 
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
Top