VeggieBoards banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Banned
3,641 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Reading the thread about Russell Brand going vegan and watching the interview with Ellen, he mentioned he has been off drugs for 8 years. Good for him and I don't mean anything I am about to say against him personally.

I have always wondered how it is possible for anyone who proclaims they used to do drugs are not reprimanded by the law. If the police catch you on drugs or possessing drugs, you will get jail time. But admitting to committing this criminal activity is ignored. I just wonder why that is...

·
Premium Member
16,664 Posts
I'm no expert on US drug laws, but I think they can only charge you for being in possession of a controlled substance or being intoxicated from one. Otherwise there's no evidence with which to convict someone, a person who's talking about doing a drug years before could just be lying for all they know.

·
Registered
1,929 Posts
They have to bust you with paraphernalia and/or in possession. Depending on laws where you are charged with how much you are caught holding will determine the fine and/or jail sentence.

However, if you use drugs on film, I am pretty sure you could still get in trouble for it.

·
Registered
10,324 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AspireToInspire View Post

They have to bust you with paraphernalia and/or in possession. Depending on laws where you are charged with how much you are caught holding will determine the fine and/or jail sentence.

However, if you use drugs on film, I am pretty sure you could still get in trouble for it.
This is what always boggled my mind because they frequently show people doing drugs on shows like A&E's Intervention for example. How is that even legal? They have even shown people shooting up with heroin or smoking crack with their children/babies right next to them!!

How the hell are they able to get away with that?

·
Banned
7,160 Posts