VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Quick question - I am trying to go vegan (for the second time :S) and i was just trying to clarify, as i don't have any in the house right now, are most peanut butters vegan? Thats what i read somewhere, but it just sounds strange to me because i love it so much i want it to be true


thanks so much.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
2,535 Posts
I have never seen a non-vegan peanut butter, although I'm sure some mono-or diglycerides could be added as emulsifiers that could be non-vegan. Just eat GOOD quality peanut butter and you'll be all set.

If you want to be vegan you're gonna have to learn to read labels ;-) Its not that hard. Peanut butter: Peanuts, salt. ;-) No butter. ;-)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
995 Posts
Most are vegan cept for the ones that have honey in them, you arfe pretty safe tholugh since the ones with honey in them generaly have it stated in big letters.

Lables are easy to read it should say, peanuts,salt and maybe a sweetner of some sort.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,348 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ayrlin View Post

Lables are easy to read it should say, peanuts,salt and maybe a sweetner of some sort.
Nuh uh.

Any peanut butter connaisseur worth his salt will tell you that the label for a really good peanut butter should read: Peanuts.

Cheers!

TJ
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,946 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeezycreezy View Post

Nuh uh.

Any peanut butter connaisseur worth his salt will tell you that the label for a really good peanut butter should read: Peanuts.

Cheers!

TJ
agreed

or peanuts and peanut oil [which helps them grind up the nuts]
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,348 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by penny79 View Post

agreed

or peanuts and peanut oil [which helps them grind up the nuts]
But do avoid hydrogenated oils [which is added as a stabilizer to prevent oil separation and is pretty much poison if you ask me].

Cheers!

TJ
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
1,524 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ayrlin View Post

Most are vegan cept for the ones that have honey in them, you arfe pretty safe tholugh since the ones with honey in them generaly have it stated in big letters.

Lables are easy to read it should say, peanuts,salt and maybe a sweetner of some sort.
Why? Isn't honey vegan?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,150 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nigel View Post

Why? Isn't honey vegan?
no it isn't, there are several threads on this. If you want lot's of info on it you can do a search.

Basically:

bee = animal

honey = animal product

vegans don't consume animal products

Hope that helps.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,664 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeezycreezy View Post

Nuh uh.

Any peanut butter connaisseur worth his salt will tell you that the label for a really good peanut butter should read: Peanuts.

Cheers!

TJ
Agreed. PB with salt in it is just.. weird. And non-salted PB makes for a much better PB chocolate 'cheesecake' *drool*
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,984 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mintarden View Post

lol, I'll add to the "no salt" votes. Just peanuts as the ingredient. (I get enough salt from all the potato chips I eat! XD)

Mmm, so good on tart grannysmith apples.
mix the PB with some maple syrup or agave nectar, and use it as an apple dip.

yum yum yummy!
 
1 - 20 of 21 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top